BoxyCharm April 2018 | Review

April Boxycharm Review _ 2018

Hello everyone! Today I’m reviewing the April BoxyCharm. I reviewed my first Boxycharm last month and I enjoyed the first box, I’ve been using everything that came in it constantly except for the eyeshadow palette. I’ve been so excited for my second box because I saw that subscribers were getting one of five ColourPop palettes! You guys know that I love my colourpop, I’ve reviewed four CP eyeshadow palettes already on my blog as well as both of their Brow Pencils.

I also filmed a video review of this box where I tried out each product including the eyeshadow palette. Make sure to subscribe to my YouTube channel if you haven’t already! xx

April BoxyCharm 2018

About BoxyCharm

BoxyCharm is a monthly US based Beauty Subscription featuring 4-5 FULL SIZED and Luxury-sized beauty products.

Price: $21USD/Month (Less with a longer subscription term)
Shipping: Free to US, $5 to Canada
Points: Redeem points from referrals in the Charmer Shop

*Note: This post contains referral/affiliate links

April BoxyCharm Eye Candy

The April BoxyCharm

The theme this month is “Eye Candy”. I don’t know that I would really consider all the products in the box to be eye candy, only two of them really fit the theme. I don’t really care too much about the theme though as long as the products are good. This month I got a skincare item, a ColourPop eyeshadow palette, a brow product, a lip product and a highlighter.

April BoxyCharm ColourPop Semi Precious

ColourPop Semi Precious Palette

ColourPop Semi- Precious Palette $18USD

I got the semi-precious palette, Yay! April Boxycharm subscribers received one of five ColourPop Eyeshadow palettes and I had my fingers crossed that I wouldn’t receive the My Little Pony (reviewed Here) because that was the one I already had. I absolutely love ColourPop’s metallic pressed eyeshadow formula so even though the Semi-Precious Palette doesn’t have any matte shades I will absolutely dip into it. The blue/purple shade Beam Me Up is stunning!

April Boxycharm Dr. Brandt

Dr. Brandt Pores No More Vacuum Cleaner Mask $42USD

I was a little bit disappointed when I saw this product spoiler because it’s intended for oily skin. My skin type is very dry but I tried it out on my T zone anyways. It smelled very strange, I wasn’t a fan. The product seemed to do a good job of tightening the pores on my nose though, so maybe I’ll keep trying it out.

1oz seems really small to me for a full size. Dr. Brandt is quite expensive, so I probably wouldn’t go by the full size on my own. I said the wrong price by accident in my video, this product retails for $42USD, not $47.

April Boxycharm Tarteist Pro Glow Highlighter

Tarte Pro Glow Liquid Highlighter $29USD

Subscribers received either this Tarte highlighter or a Mac lipstick. I was hoping for the lipstick because I’ve never tried any products by Mac and I’m also excited that Mac is getting featured in subscription boxes now. This is a fairly new thing as far as I know.

A lot of girls I follow were disappointed they got this cream/liquid highlight instead of the lipstick, but I’m honestly not to upset. The shade I received, exposed, is pretty and can be mixed in with my foundation for added luminosity.

April Boxycharm The Brow Gal Instatint Brow Gel

The Brow Gal Instatint Tinted Brow Gel with Microfibres $22USD

If I knew I’d be getting a brow gel in my boxycharm I wouldn’t have picked up a new essence brow gel earlier in April 😫 This gel is supposed to have small brow mimicking microfibres. I really liked the way it made my brows look in my YouTube impressions, it was the perfect natural but cleaned up brow. I can see myself using this daily, though i probably wouldn’t repurchase at $22.

April Boxycharm Adesse Hi Definition Liquid Lipstick

Adesse Hi Definition Liquid Lipstick $24

This Adesse liquid lipstick was a letdown for me. The colour is sort of boring to me, I already have very similar pinky nude lipsticks in my collection. One thing I will say for it though is that it smells good, but that’s not enough to make me love it. The formula seems like more of an opaque gloss than a liquid lipstick and is very sticky. It doesn’t dry down at all on me and it transfers onto everything I eat or drink.

Everything in my Boxycharm!

What did you get in your April Boxycharm?

Thank you so much for reading! If you want a more detailed look at the products please check out my youtube video and subscribe to my channel! It’s so hard to grow a new channel these days, I’d love to subscribe back if you have a channel as well. You can check out my other beauty box subscriptions Here <3

Instagram ~ Twitter Youtube ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Always Cleia

Follow:
Share:

29 Comments

  1. April 29, 2018 / 10:23 pm

    I’ve seen this box variety more than the one I got, though yours is the first one I’ve seen with a different palette than mine lol. I’ve been using a lot of the products too, but haven’t gotten around to play with the palette 😭 I’ll have to try tomorrow for an everyday look or something.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 30, 2018 / 4:27 pm

      I’ve had next to no time to play with my palette either, I finally had a chance today. There just isn’t enough time in a day. I hope you’re able to experiment with yours soon!

      • April 30, 2018 / 11:22 pm

        Me too!! LOL It ended up being my last 30 Days of Makeup challenge look and I went with a SUPER simple look lol

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          May 1, 2018 / 8:35 pm

          Nothing wrong with simple! I’ve been wearing minimal makeup a lot since the weather warmed up!

  2. April 27, 2018 / 3:06 pm

    Oo I love the look of the palette. I haven’t tried anything from Colourpop before but that packaging is stunning – really like it! I would have rather the MAC lipstick too actually just because they’re a classic and you’re right – it does seem like a new thing to have MAC featured in subscription boxes. I never realised until now!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 27, 2018 / 5:35 pm

      They did a good job with this one! I wish it had a mirror but that would make their palettes more expensive so I shouldn’t complain 😄
      I only started seeing Mac in boxes a few months ago, it’s nice that people can try the products without paying full size now 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  3. April 26, 2018 / 8:35 am

    That pallet is SO cute. I love anything blue. And I love Dr Brandt, but I agree his products are SO expensive! Thanks for sharing beauty and great video! <3

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 27, 2018 / 1:10 am

      The packaging alone is adorable, it’s the perfect size palette!
      I’ve looked at Dr brandt products at Sephora and it’s crazy what they retail for! All the more reason to get them in a subscription lol
      Thanks for reading and watching the video! xx

      • May 2, 2018 / 11:12 am

        It really is! I have seen such great results for me, but I always choke when I have to pay that much. You are most welcome sweets! Thanks for sharing! <3

  4. April 26, 2018 / 8:01 am

    That’s so exciting that you got a ColourPop palette in this box! Another one to add to your growing collection 🙂

    Oooh, that’s a hard one to pick between MAC and that Tarte highlighter. I have heard mixed reviews about the highlighter but like you said, if you used it under foundation, I bet that’s really pretty!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 27, 2018 / 1:08 am

      I was SO excited when i saw the spoilers! I have another palette for the review pile 🙂

      I’m going to try mixing it in to some other foundation and see how I like it best, I heard that the shades of Mac lipstick weren’t actually the greatest so I’m happy I got the highlighter now!

  5. April 26, 2018 / 4:22 am

    I hated the lipstick. Liquid lipstick my foot.

  6. Makeup by Erin
    April 25, 2018 / 8:46 pm

    Sooo jealous of your palette! Haha, I haven’t tried any of the products yet except for the Dr. Brandt mask. It doesn’t seem to have done anything spectacular though.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 25, 2018 / 8:59 pm

      lol! I was lucky I got this one. The red shade is sooo pretty!
      I need to try that mask out more and see if it does anything for me, it’s so hard to tell after only one use :S

  7. April 25, 2018 / 6:42 pm

    Yay you finally got your box!!! 😻

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 25, 2018 / 8:58 pm

      I did! I was pretty pleased with it!

      • April 25, 2018 / 10:31 pm

        Yay! I’m glad you got good stuff! Except for the Dr. Brandt thing… I haven’t even tried it yet! But good idea to just use it on your t zone!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          April 27, 2018 / 1:04 am

          I used it again today and it smells sooo awful! Maybe it’s just me or I got an old bottle but it’s not nice! It seems to work well though so I guess that’s what counts…

          • April 28, 2018 / 12:25 am

            Oh really? I’ll have to smell mine tomorrow. I honestly haven’t opened it. Still! I suppose working does make up for a smell…. depending on what the smell is though… haha

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            April 28, 2018 / 12:38 am

            Once it dries down I don’t notice it anymore but I’ve been caught off guard both times I used it by the smell lol!

          • April 28, 2018 / 4:16 pm

            That’s so crazy! I opened mine today and it doesn’t really have a smell. Or my allergies are so bad that I can’t smell anything which is a high possibility. Haha

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            April 29, 2018 / 10:07 am

            Oh weird! Maybe mine is expired 😆

          • April 29, 2018 / 11:19 am

            Oh no!

  8. April 25, 2018 / 2:58 pm

    All of the products in your April BoxyCharm look amazing, especially the ColourPop Semi- Precious Palette! Your YouTube videos are also awesome! Side note: you have a really calming voice hehe! Lovely post 🙂

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 25, 2018 / 5:30 pm

      It was a pretty good box, I’m thrilled with the ColourPop palette!
      Thank you so much for watching! I always sound way different in my head than when I record myself 😆

  9. April 25, 2018 / 9:27 am

    I have to say, this actually quite a lovely box! I usually love Dr. Brandt’s products, but I do get products that suit my skin type. I’m surprised they gave you a product that wouldn’t work on your skin. The tarte highlighter looks beautiful! I actually like the color of the lipstick, but I understand, if you have loads of shades already like it. Overall seems like a pretty good box. My favorite product was definitely the eye shadow palette! Great post Cleia xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      April 25, 2018 / 5:20 pm

      It’s so strange to get a product specifically for oily skin, every subscriber received the same mask. But summer is coming so hopefully my skin becomes less dry as the weather warms up 🙂
      I was pleasantly surprised with the highlight, I think liquid highlighters actually work better with my dry skin than powder right now.
      I guess boxycharm has no way of knowing what shades of lipstick I already have so I shouldn’t complain 😆 The eyeshadow palette was the star of the show! Thanks for reading xx

      • April 27, 2018 / 7:58 am

        That’s something Boxycharm should maybe work on? Giving at least two options for certain things, especially like skincare. It’s so tough to have that one size fits all in regards to skincare.
        I’m glad to hear that you love the highlighter! I looked beautiful! I haven’t watched your video yet, so I don’t know if you go into more detail in it, but I can’t wait to watch it.
        That’s true, at least they went with a color that will look nice on MOST people.

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          April 27, 2018 / 11:30 am

          I did feel out a beauty profile when I signed up, I don’t know if they actually took that into account or not :S
          I tried it out under my foundation in the video and on top, I think I’m going to wear it lots this summer =D
          I’m already excited for next months box 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: