BoxyCharm March 2018 | Review

Boxycharm March 2018 ReviewHello everyone! Today I’m reviewing the March BoxyCharm, aka my very first BoxyCharm box! I signed up for the three month option so I’ll have a few months to see how I feel about the subscription and decide whether or not to keep it. I’ve been dreaming of subscribing to BoxyCharm since before I started my blog!

I also took this opportunity to create my very first youtube video where I unbox and try on all the makeup in the box! I’ll link it at the bottom, please leave me some feedback and bare with me, I know I am a tad bit awkward as it’s my first time on camera lol! Let’s take a look at the March Boxycharm box…

Boxycharm March 2018 Review

About BoxyCharm

BoxyCharm is a monthly US based Beauty Subscription featuring 4-5 FULL SIZED and Luxury-sized beauty products.

Price: $21USD/Month (Less with a longer subscription term)
Shipping: Free to US, $5 to Canada
Points: Redeem points from referrals in the Charmer Shop

*Note: This post contains referral/affiliate links

March BoxyCharm 2018 | Baecation

The March BoxyCharm

The box design is the same every month as far as I know, but each month has a different theme. March’s Boxycharm theme is Bae-cation! I follow Boxycharm on instagram and I was feeling wistful of all the influencers that got to go a vacation to promote the palette in the box. How lovely would it be to go on an influencer vacation!?

Included in the March Boxycharm was a coupon for Butter London. Use the code CHARMER25 for 25% off!

Boxycharm X Pür Eyeshadow Palette

BoxyCharm X Pür Eyeshadow Palette $36

This palette is Cruelty Free, Vegan, Talc Free and Gluten Free. I never thought about celiacs needing makeup to be gluten free, but I guess it’s a consideration.

These shades are very summery. I love that there’s a full mirror inside the palette. Many cardboard packaged palettes don’t contain mirrors so it’s nice that I could actually take this on my own “Baecation” and have a travel mirror. A lot of the pinky/peach shades are similar so it would have been nice to see something different in the top row. I was really excited for this palette but when I played with it for the first time I had a hard time getting pigment out of some of the shades and the vibrancy of that beautiful blue shade faded fast, even with a primer underneath.

I’ll be posting a full review of this palette once I play with it a bit (and after I post my ColourPop Double Entendre & Juvia’s Place Nubian 2 Reviews). You can also watch me play with the palette in my YouTube video at the bottom!

BoxyCharm March 2018 | Vintage Cosmetic Company

The Vintage Cosmetic Company Smokey Eye Brush Set $23.12

I’m always up for more brushes! Lately I’ve been feeling pretty limited with my current brush collections so I welcome having a few more eye brushes to play around with. I do have a morphe brush set on the way but I’ll make do with these three brushes in the meantime. They’re very soft but also bulky. I don’t have a lot of space between my lid and my eyebrows so I prefer small brushes to concentrate my eyeshadow in a smaller area. I’ll use the shader brush lots though!

The brushes read “Step 1: For the Money, Step 2: For the shadow, and Step 3: Go girl go”. I was pretty sure this was referencing something (turns out it’s Elvis Presley) but the sayings seemed a little weird to me.

BoxyCharm March 2018 | Pretty Vulgar Blush

March BoxyCharm 2018 | Pretty Vulgar Make Them Blush in 'Prim Vixen'

Pretty Vulgar “Make Them Blush” Powder Blush $26

YES YES YES!! I have been dying to try Pretty Vulgar Cosmetics since it launched online at Sephora. I really hope we see a full sized Pretty Vulgar palette in a future Boxycharm, I’ve been agonizing over their Nightingale and now the recent Phoenix Rising palettes!

Blushes normally aren’t exciting for me but the colour I got is a vibrant neon pink and unlike anything in my collection so far. The packaging is pretty but the plastic looks a little cheap. On the bright side it’s sturdy!

BoxyCharm March 2018 | South Mane Eye Gels

South Mane Eye Gel Packs $9

This is the kind of skincare I like to see in my subscriptions. You can’t really go wrong with sheet masks and eye gel masks are one of my favourite types to use. My under eye areas get so dry, especially during the winter. These eye gel packs are supposed to be cooling & revitalizing.

March BoxyCharm 2018 | Butter London Double Decker Mascara

March BoxyCharm 2018 | Butter London Double Decker Mascara

Butter London Double Decker Mascara $28

I was excited when I saw the brand name on a discount card inside my Boxycharm thinking that I was getting some Butter London nail polish. Imagine my surprise when it was a mascara instead! I didn’t realize that Butter London made makeup products.

This mascara tube is huge. They didn’t call it double decker for nothing! Luckily the brush isn’t super bulky like I was worried it would be from the name. Double Decker is supposed to provide an immediate, lasting curl effect and promises “Get 200% thicker lashes in just one coat and a 314% increase in lash curl”. We shall see!

March BoxyCharm 2018 | Flatlay

Value

The total of the box worked out to $121.12USD! I think the worth of that Pür X Boxycharm palette is arguable, it retails at Pür for $36 but there are similar palettes that retail for less on their website. Still, I paid $31CAD for the box so to have a value of over $120USD is incredible.

I also like that the box is curated so that most of the products fit together. You can create almost a full eye look with the palette, brushes & mascara and then you’ve got some blush and some eye gels to round things out. I’m happy with the march box, and I’m so excited for next month’s box because rumour has it a ColourPop palette will be included! EEK!

March BoxyCharm 2018 | BoxyBae

I’m wearing the eyeshadow palette, Mascara & Blush!

What did you get in your March Boxycharm?

Thank you so much for reading! If you want a more detailed look at the products please check out my YouTube video and subscribe to my channel! I’d love to subscribe back if you have a YouTube channel as well. You can check out my other beauty box subscriptions Here <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Always Cleia

Follow:
Share:

12 Comments

  1. Jayde Charlotte Reader
    March 28, 2018 / 7:13 pm

    I have been looking into signing up to a subscription box and this one seems like a good contender!😍 you’re makeup came out sooooo lovely btw!💖
    I would love if you’d take a look at my blog… I’m new and hoping to get to 100 followers by then end of the month!🙈 http://www.jaydecharlottereader.com xxx

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 28, 2018 / 7:31 pm

      Yes boxycharm has one of the best values out there! Fabfitfun is great too, I have a few reviews up 😊
      Thank you! And Yes I’ll check out your blog! Thanks for linking it to me, I can’t get to it from clicking on your blog name for some reason :S

  2. March 26, 2018 / 11:05 pm

    We got the same box but I got the blush in hush blush, I think that’s the name, I would have to check again. I’m loving pretty much everything (except the mascara which will take me a while to get to) lol. I should have my box review up in a week or so, i like to give myself some time to test everything lol. I’m glad you finally have this box though, I like the fact that all their products truly do fit in the theme, Ipsy sucks at that haha

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 26, 2018 / 11:09 pm

      I think most people I saw got the hush blush, it looks like it would be quite pretty as well. Are you loving the palette? No matter what I do I can’t seem to make it work for me 😔
      The box felt very cohesive, I wonder what next months theme will be…

      • March 26, 2018 / 11:30 pm

        Really? So far everyone’s boxes that I’ve seen got a different shade than me lol. And I was only able to play with it on Friday and it seemed ok, but maybe I picked the wrong color combo so I’m going to try again just in case lol.
        I’m excited for next month!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          March 27, 2018 / 10:56 am

          Huh, weird! I dunno I haven’t read any unboxings with the prim vixen blush I got 😮
          New spoliers we’re released on MSA! I always look at the first two or three spoilers then try to leave the rest a surprise 😄

          • March 27, 2018 / 5:16 pm

            I’m not gonna look at the spoilers but it will be hard to avoid them on their instagram lmao

  3. Makeup by Erin
    March 25, 2018 / 9:13 pm

    We got pretty much the same things, except I got the nude blush! I haven’t tried my palette yet, but I’m sad the blue didn’t last long, that was what I was most excited for! I actually really like the mascara and I’m super hard on mascaras!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 26, 2018 / 1:30 am

      I know they usually send out variations but the blush was the only one that I really noticed between boxes. Have you had a chance to play around with the palette? I’d love to hear your thoughts on it!
      Glad you like the mascara too! I’ve swapped out my old one for this one 🙂

      • Makeup by Erin
        March 26, 2018 / 11:10 am

        You’re right, everything else was identical. I thought they had several types of mascaras, but I’ve only seen people opening the butter London one.
        I haven’t played with the palette yet, but today I will be! ☺️

  4. Imperfect Beauty
    March 25, 2018 / 4:20 pm

    That blue looks lovely on you! x

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 25, 2018 / 6:54 pm

      Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: