ColourPop BFF Mascara Review | Blue Ya Mind

Hello Lovelies! Today’s blog post is a review of the ColourPop BFF Mascara that I picked up in my Spring ColourPop Haul! Their new formula was recently released in a ton of cool colors in addition to a regular black mascara and I HAD to try the blue shade, Blue Ya Mind. I was disappointed that they didn’t release a brown mascara, but the blue has been such a fun color to wear.

I’m sorry that my blogging schedule has been literally all over the place. I work in media and with the Alberta provincial election my schedule has been random as hell and very full. It’s been a busy 2019 so far with the move and the election. It’s been hard to organize my life lately but I’m working to get everything back on track.

Disclaimer: This post contains affiliate links. If you click through my links and make a purchase I will make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

ColourPop BFF Mascara Review in Blue Ya Mind

ColourPop BFF Mascara Review

Introducing the BFF Mascara, she’s with you from thin to thick. The unique twisted nylon fiber brush is shaped to comb through each lash from root to tip, delivering a buildable look that never clumps. Who needs flakes in their life when you have BFF? No flaking, no bs, just a ride-or-die formula.

ColourPop’s BFF Mascara comes in 7 different shades (including a black mascara) and retails for $8USD. BFF promises to Lift, Volumize & Lengthen without clumping or flaking. It really does sound perfect when you put it like that! I’m reviewing the Blue Ya Mind BFF Mascara

ColourPop Blue Ya Mind BFF Mascara

The Packaging

The packaging is really, really cute. I love the white packaging, coloured wand and the little BFF’s writing all over the outer plastic. I’m curious how long it will take for those designs to fade from the packaging, ColourPop is notorious for the writing fading off the products so time will tell.

The mascara wand is blue just like the mascara itself and is a bristly hourglass shape.

ColourPop BFF Mascara | Blue Ya Mind

Performance

The wand does such a good job of lifting & curling my lashes. I was shocked with how much lift it gives my lashes because they’re normally quite straight and don’t curl easily. It’s hard to tell in my photos but my lashes do actually have quite a bit more volume than usual. I always use an eyelash curler before applying mascara but even still the BFF mascara gives my lashes some extra omph.

The blue colour is very noticeable and striking! I’m obsessed with the color but I don’t think I’ll try the other shades. I prefer to stick with black or brown mascara for most days and the blue is as far out of my comfort zone as I’m willing to go. If I wear the ColourPop Blue Ya Mind BFF Mascara to work I like to layer it with a black to tone down the blue. My work isn’t strict on dress code/makeup but I don’t like to push it to far.

The colour becomes a little dull by the end of the day but it’s still noticeable. I didn’t experience any flaking or clumping either which is awesome! Sometimes bristly wands like this can lead to clumpy lashes but I didn’t have any issues even after two to three coats.

ColourPop BFF Mascara Blue Ya Mind

The blue is much more vibrant in person!

Bottom Line

I’m really impressed with the ColourPop BFF Mascara, especially the shade Blue Ya Mind. I always have a giant backlog of mascaras so I probably won’t be repurchasing BFF anytime soon. I have to get through what I already have. That being said I do think the formula is worth a repurchase. It does a great job of lifting & separating my lashes which is something that I have a hard time finding from other formulas. And for $8 you really can’t go wrong!

ColourPop BFF Mascara | Blue Ya Mind

Have you tried the Colourpop BFF Mascara?

Thanks for reading, I hope this review was helpful. Let me know if you picked up the shade Blue Ya Mind or any of the other ColourPop BFF mascaras! I’d love to hear your thoughts on them. Talk soon! x

Follow:
Share:

30 Comments

  1. May 20, 2019 / 12:07 am

    The packaing really is super cute! Hopefully you finish the mascara before the design wears off. πŸ™‚ Love that it’s only $8, too.

    Great review as always, Cleia!

    • May 20, 2019 / 3:03 pm

      I hope so! We’ll see how fast it wears off lol. Thanks for reading!

  2. May 10, 2019 / 10:56 am

    I would love to try this onetoo, in this specific shade, it just looks so stunning and honestly you pull it off so well!
    I have a hard time with getting my lashes to curl as well or keeping that curl all day so most mascaras I’ve been using lately are eh lol.
    This looks so fun! I could have probably used it to play around with the blue blood palette lol

    • May 14, 2019 / 5:31 pm

      I’m surprised that this shade is working so well for me! I hope they release a brown mascara soon because I love the formula πŸ™‚
      I never get the results with mascara that I see in YouTube videos.
      If you place another order one day you should definitely pick it up!

      • May 17, 2019 / 8:36 pm

        I have NEVER tried a brown mascara, I’d be interested in that too LOL
        I’m still going through all the mascaras I have in my stash. I have 10 unopened ones and so far whatever I’ve been pulling out isn’t working for me which is a shame. LOL

        • May 20, 2019 / 3:30 pm

          That’s a lot of mascara to work through! Are they all full size?

          • May 21, 2019 / 10:35 am

            yeaaah!! DX
            I got all of them through subscriptions. I would get one almost every month it was so ridiculous! I might give some away lol

          • May 22, 2019 / 8:14 pm

            yeah one a month is way too much to work through! Hopefully they won’t expire!

          • May 24, 2019 / 11:35 pm

            They’re all unopened, so I hope they don’t expire before I have the chance to get to them.

          • May 29, 2019 / 9:06 pm

            If they aren’t opened they should last a long time!

  3. May 8, 2019 / 3:33 pm

    I’ve been really curious about this mascara, have you tried the lash paradise? How would you compare it to that? This was a great review, and makes me want to try out this mascara even more! Like you though, I have a huge collection of mascara’s that I have to get through. Great post Cleia xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • May 10, 2019 / 1:12 am

      I loved Lash Paradise when I was using it, but it has been a while since I last had one open. I like both formulas! I think the wand is easier to use with this colourpop one and I get a bit more volume. But it’s hard to say unless I go and buy a new one to compare!
      I have probably 5 mini mascaras that aren’t even open right now, it’s bad!

      • May 21, 2019 / 6:26 pm

        My sister’s buying a colourpop mascara, so I’m going to be able to give it a try myself! I also ended up buying one of their colored eyeliners and their black liquid liner!

        • May 22, 2019 / 8:26 pm

          Let me know how the eyeliners are! I haven’t tried them yet.

  4. May 8, 2019 / 10:42 am

    I love how the colour looks with your eyes, and its a lot more wearable than I was expecting! Looks great!

    • May 10, 2019 / 1:10 am

      Thank you! Yes it definitely is! I wasn’t sure if I’d be able to get away with it for work but surprisingly it was fine. Thanks for reading! x

  5. May 7, 2019 / 5:05 pm

    I love how vibrant the color is as a lot of blue mascara are not noticeable at any time of the day but this one is.
    β™₯ Mae

    • May 10, 2019 / 1:09 am

      The color lasts pretty well too! It’s even more striking in person. Thanks for reading! x

  6. May 7, 2019 / 12:29 pm

    Wow, that color is so striking! I’m definitely intrigued by this product. I’m such a mascara junkie, can’t help it!

    • May 10, 2019 / 1:01 am

      I think you’d really like these mascaras then! The blue is so vibrant, and some of the other colors look interesting too. Thanks for reading!!

  7. May 7, 2019 / 12:36 am

    The coloured mascaras look fun! My mum wears only blue mascara and always has, she doesn’t like black or brown. It suits her though πŸ™‚

    • May 10, 2019 / 1:00 am

      That’s AWESOME! Coolest mom ever!

      • May 10, 2019 / 1:06 am

        I used to wear it too back in high school for non-uniform days!

        • May 10, 2019 / 1:18 am

          Did you have to do your makeup a specific way with a uniform? My school let us do whatever we wanted, except wear hats. And sometimes bandanas I learned lol

          • May 10, 2019 / 1:28 am

            I didn’t used to wear makeup to school except for those days. I kept it quite simple even then so I never got told off.

  8. May 6, 2019 / 11:05 am

    This is such a fun, vibrant colour! You can definitely notice it, but it’s not too loud and crazy. In the close up it kind of makes it look like you have blue liquid liner on, which is a fun look too.
    I’m confused by some of the other colours they have in this line. How is yellow going to show up on anyone’s lashes (unless you have very pale lashes)…and isn’t red going to make you look like you have pink eye/your eyes are bleeding?

    • May 10, 2019 / 12:57 am

      I think the blue is the most wearable out of all the fun colors! Even if it’s more out there it’s better than the red..
      I completely agree, the yellow is an odd choice. And I don’t get the red at all! If it smudges it’s just going to look bad, like you’re sick or something.

      • May 10, 2019 / 11:02 am

        There must be a demand for it (by who???) if they’re making these colours, haha!

        • May 14, 2019 / 5:32 pm

          I wonder how they get all their ideas! They never seem to run out πŸ˜„

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: