ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil | Review

ColourPop Brow Boss ReviewI had one of the worst makeup blunders ever a few weeks ago — I ran out of brow products! It was awful. Eyebrows really do frame your face and when I don’t even have a spoolie to brush them or brow gel to hold those hairs in place… It’s not pretty. Instead of running to the drugstore or to Sephora I decided to try out their Brow Boss & Precision Brow Pencils. After two weeks of sparse yet thick brows my Brow Boss Pencil Arrived. My Before & After is at the end!

ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil Review

ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil
Review

Get naturally, defined brows with this long wearing, mistake-proof, retractable pencil. Its buildable colour and attached spoolie make it easy to create hair-like strokes to fill in sparser areas. You’ll have perfectly feathered brows that last all day.

The ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil is sold exclusively online at ColourPop and retails at $5USD for 0.08g of product. The ABH Brow Wiz retails for $21USD for the same amount of product. Brow Boss is available in four different shades ranging from Blonde to Soft Black. I’m reviewing the shade Dark Brown.

ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil

Packaging

The Brow Boss Pencil has a twist dispenser on one end for the brow pigment and a spoolie on the other end. The spoolie on the Brow Boss is softer than I expected. I’ve gotten used to these horrendously scratchy brow spoolies like the one in the Essence Make Me Brow Gel so I was pleasantly surprised that I didn’t feel like I was raking my brow hairs into place with the spoolie. I had two issues with the packaging:

One, the cap got stuck on the end of the spoolie and I couldn’t get it off without taking the entire spoolie off inside the cap. I finally got the cap off by sticking my fingernail between the cap and the plastic to hold the spoolie in place while I pulled.

My second issue is that the brow pigment/lead broke. I took the cap off one day and two pieces fell out. I was able to reinsert them but the pieces kept falling out!

ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil Swatches

Performance

ColourPop’s Brow Boss Pencil is designed for a natural but defined brows. It claims to be long wearing, mistake proof and buildable. To get the best definition I use a medium pressure when applying. The lead is soft, but not so soft that you can get away with using a light hand.

I completely agree that the pencil is buildable. You can build it up as little or as much as you like with it. I like to fill in my sparse areas and extend the tail of my brows slightly with the Brow Boss. If I want fully carved brows I personally would rather use the ColourPop Precision Brow pencil instead of the Brow Boss because it doesn’t need to be built up as much.

I’m sure that someone out there will disagree that this brow pencil is completely Mistake-proof but I don’t find myself making glaring mistakes with the Brow Boss Pencil.

As for longevity my brows last until I wash my face at night.

Before ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil

Before Brow Boss

ColourPop Brow Boss Pencil

After Brow Boss

What’s your favourite Brow Pencil?

Thanks so much for reading! If you enjoyed this post please make sure to like & subscribe. Don’t forget to follow me on Social Media <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Always Cleia

 

 

 

Follow:
Share:

33 Comments

  1. March 12, 2018 / 12:03 am

    I considered getting this one but I have too many brow products right now. Pencils are really hard to get through even with daily use lol. But I also want to try the NYX micro brow. My current favorite one is the it Cosmetics brow power universal pencil

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 12, 2018 / 12:54 am

      I was so jealous when I saw that the it cosmetics pencil was featured in Boxycharm recently lol! I love the idea of a universal shade that works for everyone.
      It takes me a long time to use of my brow products too, at least a few months each. Thanks for reading!

      • March 12, 2018 / 8:06 am

        I really like it, it works for me, though it can look a bit orange sometimes if I go too dark. Which is something I didn’t notice as much until someone told me it pulled orange on them. But it’s something to keep in mind.
        I have been using my brow power sample for MONTHS and I can’t finish it! Lol. I’m gonna see if it’s a bit dried out by now compared to the new one I got in Boxycharm, and if so, I will toss my little one and start using the full size

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          March 12, 2018 / 10:53 am

          Orange, really? I wouldn’t have expected that, I thought it would be more of a cool toned pencil.
          That’s how I feel with mascaras, I can’t even finish deluxe samples in the 6 month period before you have to toss it 😄

          • March 12, 2018 / 7:49 pm

            Yeah, it doesn’t always happen but I did notice it a few times, I don’t know if it’s also my foundation that makes it seem that way as I have warm undertones. Lol. I think it depends on skin tone too but my friend is pretty pale compared to me so I’m not too sure.

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            March 12, 2018 / 11:54 pm

            It’s got to be the pencil if you both noticed it! That’s so strange, I’ll keep that in mind…

  2. March 10, 2018 / 7:24 am

    your brows look great!! shame that the product broke & fell out though, that’s always so frustrating having to put the little pieces back in!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 10, 2018 / 4:51 pm

      Thank you! 🙂
      And they were little pieces too so it was such a pain to find them whenever they fell out!

  3. March 10, 2018 / 5:19 am

    I really like using the Makeup Revolution brow pencil. It’s not as precise as the nyx microbrow but with a steady hand it works pretty well. The only thing I don’t like about the nyx one is its a little too warm toned for me 😢, whereas the Makeup Revolution one is much more cool toned. Xx

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 10, 2018 / 4:50 pm

      I had a hard time finding a Micro brow pencil that matched me too. I feel like I was between shades and mine didn’t exist yet.
      I’ve never tried makeup revolution but I’m hearing so much about them lately, I’ll check out that brow pencil!

  4. Makeup by Erin
    March 9, 2018 / 8:09 pm

    I don’t do my brows, so I don’t use anything, but this pencil sounds and looks really nice!

  5. March 9, 2018 / 3:45 pm

    I also really like the Maybelline Brow Precise Micro Pencil. It’s said to also be a dupe for the ABH Brow Wiz. Lately though I have been using a Mac brow pencil that I received in Boxycharm a few months ago and I really like it! I think it might be stiffer than the Maybelline, but not totally sure. This Colourpop one is certainly an affordable option, although it breaking like that is pretty annoying.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 9, 2018 / 7:06 pm

      This is my first time hearing about that one, I need to look into that!
      I don’t think I’ve ever bought anything from Mac, it’s so expensive. But I would totally use it if I got it in a boxy charm. I don’t know if I mentioned it but I subscribed for the march box!
      I don’t know if it’s just a one time thing or not with the pencil breaking, I’ll have to place another ColourPop order to test it (excuses) 😉

      • March 9, 2018 / 7:55 pm

        Yeah I really don’t use or like a lot of Mac products, but they have nice loose pigments and I do like fix +. I never would have picked up a brow pencil from them though! Boxy charm has brought me a few things that I never would have tried that have turned out to be good, but I actually just cancelled my subscription. Lol. It’s a good subscription, but I was just getting so many things that I wasn’t using and I felt like I didn’t need my makeup collection to expand that much when I’m already buying other things anyways. I just did a big declutter and I don’t want to have to again any time soon. The value of the box is definitely worth it, but I only ever really LOVED one or two items out of the five. It’s fun though that’s for sure. But I have cancelled all of my subscriptions to everything, and will probably do a short post on it soon

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          March 10, 2018 / 1:04 am

          I still need to try fix +, I use NYX setting spray instead. I’m always daunted by the price at Mac!
          I hear that quite a bit, I’m not sure if I’ll keep it beyond the three months. I’m happier knowing I’ll at least get full sized products with boxycharm than I was with Ipsy. I’m apparently getting another look fantastic box this month, they cancelled and refunded me but accidentally shipped me a box 😄

          • March 10, 2018 / 8:54 am

            You should at least sign up with Mac since apparently they have just started a birthday program and they are giving out a full size bottle of Fix + ! My sources say at least lol. I mean, I was definitely happy enough with boxy charm when I had it, so I think you will enjoy it. It is fun. I’m just trying to cut down. I’m also making less money per month right now because of how this school semester is structured, so I’m trying to be aware of that and cut down on the things I don’t need.

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            March 10, 2018 / 4:54 pm

            WHAT. How did I never know this omg. Sign me up right now!
            Mike & I been going slightly crazy with the Treat yo self mindset since he got a job but yesterday we had a talk like, okay it’s time to reign everything back in. Neither of us are full time so its time to stop… I’m thinking about doing a No-Buy for makeup/clothes in April & May.

          • March 10, 2018 / 8:54 am

            Also that’s hilarious about the look fantastic box! Karma!!!

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            March 10, 2018 / 4:55 pm

            It showed up today with no customs charges either! I wish I could figure out how Canada does their import charges.

          • March 10, 2018 / 8:30 pm

            Well I wonder if they have just backed off a bit recently?

      • March 9, 2018 / 9:03 pm

        Also, we are so good at justifying new colourpop orders lol

  6. March 9, 2018 / 11:03 am

    You know, I’ve had a good bit of trouble finding ones I actually like. The best I’ve found recently is from TonyMoly and I actually came across it in Korea!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 9, 2018 / 7:01 pm

      I didn’t know that Tony Moly made makeup products, I’ve only seen their skincare! I’ll watch out for it 🙂

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 12, 2018 / 12:52 am

      I got a little sample of the brow wiz around christmas time and I liked it a lot more than the nyx dupe. I just wish it wasn’t so expensive! Thanks for reading Melina! 🙂

  7. March 9, 2018 / 9:00 am

    I’m really curious to see how this performs compared to the ABH Brow Wiz and NYX Micro Brow. Even with the exchange rate, at $5 USD this pencil is still cheaper than the NYX, which is around $10 CAD. It looks really nice and natural on you! Will definitely be picking this up to try next time around because brow products get finished so ridiculously quickly!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 9, 2018 / 11:29 am

      It’s been a while since I used the NYX but I think I like the brow boss just a tiny bit better. Plus it’s so affordable! I’m going to have to restock this and the no filter concealer soon. Let me know what you think if you do end up trying it 🙂

  8. March 9, 2018 / 8:46 am

    If I’m not using ABH brow wiz, I use NYX micro brow – I feel like the application is the same and sometimes I even feel like my NYX gives me more control and a more natural looking brow than ABH! But I’m so tempted to try this one now!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 9, 2018 / 11:27 am

      I’ve used the NYX one before, I remember liking it! I love how affordable the brow boss is 🙂

  9. March 9, 2018 / 8:30 am

    It’s amazing what a little brow can do for you. You look stunning!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 9, 2018 / 11:25 am

      Thank you! 🙂 It’s funny how just a little bit of brow product can pull the whole look together!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: