ColourPop No Filter Foundation Review

ColourPop No Filter Foundation ReviewHey everyone! I’m sure by now most of you know that the ColourPop No Filter Foundation is officially on the market. I ordered it the day it dropped in store but due to my location I had to wait weeks for my order to arrive. Luckily I didn’t have a customs charge in addition to the wait! No Filter Foundation has been highly requested of ColourPop since the beauty world went mad for their No Filter Concealer and I was very excited when they released a $12 foundation under the same name. I’ve been wearing it everyday for a week now. Let’s get into my review!

ColourPop No Filter Foundation Review

ColourPop No Filter Foundation retails for $12USD  and contains 25ml of foundation. This is just under 1oz which strikes me as odd, most foundations I’ve used are at least 1oz, and normally 1.7oz at that. No Filter Foundation comes in 42 different shades in a wide range of warm and cool tones.

This foundation claims to have a lightweight, natural matte finish. It’s meant to be full coverage but can be sheered out with a sponge which you can see in my YouTube video. No Filter Foundation also contains soft-blurring pigments and is oil free.

Packaging

For a $12 bottle I’m so impressed that the bottle is glass. It has a nice weight to it AND has a twist lock pump. I love when my foundations have a pump, when I have to flip a bottle upside down to get the product out it tends to get everywhere when I do my makeup! In addition to the functional packaging No Filter Foundation also has pretty little white stars all over the bottle.

Application & Coverage

I tried applying ColourPop No Filter Foundation with the foundation brush that arrived free when I placed my order. With a brush the finish is streaky. I have this problem with all brushe and foundation combos so I’m not entirely convinced that this is No Filter’s fault. Nevertheless I had to go in and blend everything out again with a sponge. The best way I’ve found to apply No Filter Foundation is to apply it directly to the face with a sponge instead of with a brush. It takes some finessing but it is possible to get an even application. No Filter Foundation is initially very watery, which surprised me given how hard it was to blend on my skin.

This is supposedly a full coverage foundation but honestly I found it to be closer to medium coverage. As you can see the coverage doesn’t hide everything. It provides more coverage than my Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Foundation, but not enough to be considered full coverage.

ColourPop No Filter Foundation Review | Finish

Finish & How It Wears

No Filter Foundation claims to have a natural matte finish. On my skin for whatever reason it didn’t really look matte, but it wasn’t dewy either. I guess maybe that’s where the “natural” part comes in? Because no one is completely matte in real life. I do have dry skin so if you have oily skin I don’t know how matte it will be on you…

When I filmed my review video I checked in after four to five hours and a strength workout. ColourPop’s matte foundation still looked pretty good, but I could tell that it was sitting on top of my skin. It didn’t crease too much in my fine lines but I noticed the foundation collecting between my eyebrows.. I typically don’t set my cream or liquid face products with powder as it makes my skin look even drier, but I do set my makeup with a mist.

By the end of the night (9-10 hours after application) I noticed some acne spots on my chin peaking through so it was starting to wear off in my T Zone, but overall my foundation looked okay. I wouldn’t say it was amazing but I can live with it for $12. Once I empty the bottle I’ll be finding an alternative that blends better and looks more natural than ColourPop No Filter Foundation.

Did you pick up your shade of ColourPop No Filter Foundation?

Thanks for reading everyone! Let me know what you want to see next. Remember you can find all of my ColourPop Reviews Here! I hope you enjoyed this review, if you did please like & subscribe <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ YouTube ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Always Cleia 'Til Next Time

Follow:
Share:

24 Comments

  1. July 12, 2018 / 1:41 pm

    I am super surprised that this foundation comes in a glass bottle! That doesn’t seem like Colourpop at all! I love the aesthetic of the packaging! I’m surprised that you found it to have less coverage, because in the video reviews that I have watched so far, this foundation has looked to be “smack you in the face full coverage”. lol. Regardless, I just can’t stray from Maybelline Fit Me. I don’t see any reason to since I can often buy it for $7. What’s better than that?

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      July 12, 2018 / 4:48 pm

      Right!? The colourpop primer that just released comes in the type of packaging you would expect from the brand, it’s a little weird that the foundation is in a random glass bottle. But I’m not complaining!
      Maybe my sponge is just absorbing too much product? I don’t know :S I did have some stubborn acne when I filmed my review so that was hard to cover.
      But yes, why leave a foundation that works so well? I’ve been reaching for my fit me foundation so much too!

  2. July 9, 2018 / 11:05 am

    I was so excited when I got the email stating you wrote a review on this product. I’ve seen so many mixed reviews of this all over the internet. Since you are one of those people I truly believe in their reviews, I was so excited to get to it. The packaging is cute! I’m kinda sad that you didn’t love it, but I completely get why. Great post Cleia xx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      July 9, 2018 / 11:22 pm

      That’s so nice to hear, I was excited to review this launch! The reviews are SO different from each other wherever I look, some people loved it and others completely hated it, it’s so hard to know what to think of a product when that happens! I wish I had loved it but it’s not terrible or anything like that, so I will keep using it. I think it’s just not for me.
      Thanks so much for reading Melina!

  3. July 9, 2018 / 8:48 am

    Oooh, I wish I’d read this post earlier! I just made a ColourPop order and this foundation was going in and out of my cart. Ultimately I didn’t get it because it seemed that they didn’t have an exact colour match for me, but the “matte” part of it scared me as well. It’s good to know that it looks natural and not overly matte or dewy, though. In photos, it looks very natural on you!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      July 9, 2018 / 5:01 pm

      It’s so hard to judge what shade to buy just from looking at the website swatches! I wish I had gone with a slightly darker shade, but it still works for me.
      I’m also glad that it’s not completely matte, it’s nice that it doesn’t emphasize any dryness or oxidize!
      What did you order from Colourpop!? Are you going to post a haul?

      • July 10, 2018 / 8:43 pm

        It is SO hard to colour match online! I can barely do it in person, lol. Hopefully the shade you bought will be a better fit for you in the winter?

        I haven’t decided if I’m going to do a haul, yet. ColourPop was having a sale of a handful of their products a few days ago -I ended up buying $15 worth of sale items, and then instead of paying $11 for shipping, I ended up buying another $35 of items so that I could get free shipping! XD Most of it was eye products, but I also bought the Precision Brow based on your recommendation!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          July 11, 2018 / 7:39 pm

          I think it will, it’s not terrible on me right now and my tan will only fade.
          LOL that good ole ColourPop international shipping trap. That happens to me every time. I was telling my husband that I bought the Sol & Mar palettes and that it was a good deal because they were only $12 each… but then I went and spent another $26 for free shipping!
          I hope you like it! The precision brow is the softest brow pencil I’ve ever used, it blends really nicely.

          • July 11, 2018 / 11:18 pm

            I know, we’re such suckers for buying more just to get free shipping, but it feels like it’s better to spend another $26 and get some more products out of it, rather than $10 for shipping, ya know?

            I’m excited to try it! I’m going on a weekend trip this weekend and was hoping it would arrive by Friday so I wouldn’t have to pack my ABH pomade and a brush to apply it with, but it won’t arrive in time. Boo!

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            July 12, 2018 / 5:01 am

            It really does 😂

            Aww that sucks. My orders always take several weeks to arrive, I wish they had faster shipping!

          • July 13, 2018 / 9:33 am

            SEVERAL weeks?! That’s insane, they mail out from California! I’ve only ordered from ColourPop once and the shipping time might differ every time, but I only remember it taking about a week and a half.

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            July 13, 2018 / 11:17 am

            I knooow it’s the worst! I waited 2 and a half weeks for my shipping info to change to recieved by UPS. And the time before that it took about a month. They did give me a freebie for the shipping delay though, so I wasn’t too upset.

          • July 13, 2018 / 4:04 pm

            That’s awful! I guess it’s not too bad when they compensate for the lateness, though.

  4. Makeup by Erin
    July 6, 2018 / 8:09 pm

    I haven’t heard that many amazing reviews on this, which is kinda a let down, but for $12 its not that bad. I’m kinda on a no foundation kick, so I probably won’t be buying it. Lovely review as always!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      July 7, 2018 / 1:29 am

      Thanks for reading Erin! I had high hopes for it but I don’t really think it’s amazing… You aren’t missing much!

  5. July 5, 2018 / 12:08 pm

    great review, i love colourpop! I like a natural look too, I just use a tinted moisturizer 😊

    • July 5, 2018 / 4:22 pm

      Thanks for reading! Which tinted moisturizer do you use? I’ve never tried one!

      • July 5, 2018 / 6:22 pm

        I use the laura mercier one!! it’s so good 🙌🏻 definitely light coverage though

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          July 5, 2018 / 6:35 pm

          Light coverage is my favourite actually, so that’s perfect! Thanks!

  6. July 5, 2018 / 11:28 am

    Thank you for the review!! I’ll hold off buying this until they come out with a dewy formula. Also, in your YouTube video your comment about Sephora killed me 😂 I got a shade match once, bought the product, came home and realized it was way too light. 🙄

    • July 5, 2018 / 4:24 pm

      I hope they come out with one soon! Haha that Colour IQ test is madness. I don’t think it’s very accurate, I swatched some of the foundations it recommended to me in store and none of them would have worked! I hope you were able to return it!

      • July 5, 2018 / 4:35 pm

        I sure did return it! Haha I usually go to ulta now anyway and they actually apply the makeup to my face so I know it works!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          July 5, 2018 / 5:00 pm

          That’s the best way, I guess I could do that at Sephora but I always feel so overwhelmed shopping there lol

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: