ColourPop Zodiac Palette Review

ColourPop Zodiac Palette ReviewHey everyone, welcome back to Always, Cleia. Today we’re talking about the new Kathleen Lights X ColourPop Zodiac Palette Collab which released about three weeks ago. My palette took forEVER to get to me, It finally arrived Friday morning when I checked my mailbox right before heading out for Calgary. Naturally my review took a little longer to get up. I absolutely loved the Dream St. Palette which was another Kathleen Lights collab so I was pretty sure the ColourPop Zodiac Palette would be a hit. Honestly I’m not really into astrology so I won’t be talking about how any of the shades pertain to zodiac personalities. If you want to hear more about that sort of thing you can watch Kathleen Light’s Zodiac Collection Reveal video Here.

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Review

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Review

Hey, what’s your sign? See Kathleen’s passion come to life, each shade of The Zodiac Palette was carefully created to represent the astrological signs while staying cohesive and wearable as an eyeshadow palette. Rock your sign alone as a wash of color or complement it with the other shades of the zodiac! — ColourPop

The ColourPop Zodiac Palette retails for $18USD and contains 12 x 0.85g pressed powder eyeshadows in a mix of matte & metallic finishes. This works out to $1.5 per eyeshadow or $1.76 per gram. The Zodiac Palette contains a mirror which has upped the regular cardboard packaging palettes from $16 to $18. Each shade was handpicked by Kathleen Lights to portray the signs of the zodiac and their element.

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Shade Names

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Packaging

Packaging

The PR box for the Zodiac collection was absolutely stunning. I unfortunately couldn’t afford to pick up the whole collection so I settled for the Zodiac palette. The outer cardboard packaging is black with zodiac constellations printed in gold. The palette itself is blue with gold collections. Kathleen said in her collection video that she couldn’t decide between blue or black so she went with both. I personally like the black better.

Many people have been saying on Instagram that they wish the palette didn’t contain a mirror because it ups the price. I felt that way at first but then I realized how much easier it was to travel with this palette. I always like to do my makeup near a natural light source so while I was away I sat by an open window and used the mirror in the palette. It was pretty handy!

The shade names are not only printed on the back of the Zodiac palette, they’re also printed under each individual shade. The signs of the Zodiac are named “The” Gemini, “The” Aquarius, etc. Because Kathleen Lights already had an Aquarius Lippie Stix and ColourPop doesn’t like to have two products with the same name.

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Colour Story

Colour Story

I saw that the ColourPop Zodiac Palette got a lot of flack for the colour story. Many YouTubers have said that they only tolerate the curation of the palette because KL had to be specific in making the Zodiac Signs match their temperament and element sign. It’s a themed eyeshadow palette and because the Zodiac Signs are in order across the palette it makes sense that the shades aren’t as artfully arranged as a non-themed palette. Another touch is that each vertical row contains three shades in each element sign in the order of Fire, Earth, Air & Water.

MY TAKE however, is that while some of the brown transition shades may not be the most interesting I love that she included them. An eyeshadow palette needs transition shades to function as a whole without dipping into other palettes. I found the purple, blue and teal shades to be very unique but I can still create a look that isn’t crazy when I pull in the more “normal” looking shades.

The Capricon contains some redundant glitter, I always tap out my brush when working with a matte black so the glitter flecks just disperse into the air. Regardless, it makes a fantastic liner shade.

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Swatches

Swatches of the Zodiac Palette

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Flatlay

Pigmentation, Fallout & Blend

This eyeshadow palette was almost everything I expected from Kathleen Lights after trying the Dream St. Palette. Most of the shadows are smooth and blend like butter on my eyes with minimal fallout but there are a few that gave me trouble.

The Aquarius is hard to build. Even KL acknowledges this in her Zodiac Reveal Video. This shade needs some patience if you want to build it up to a full wash of colour. On the bright side there isn’t as much kick up from this shade because it’s not as pigmented as other shades in the ColourPop Zodiac Palette.

Another trouble shade is The Pisces. If you apply it dry it will not last. I used a setting spray and it still faded by the end of the day. I might need to pick up fix + for this shade because my regular setting spray didn’t lock it on my eyes well enough.

Other than those two shades the ColourPop Zodiac Palette has some really great metallics that apply beautifully and aren’t at all hard to work with. The Gemini is stunning, as are The Cancer and The Scorpio.

ColourPop Zodiac Palette Makeup Look

Crease – The Libra – Outer & Inner 1/3 – The Aquarius – Centre of the Lid – The Cancer – Outer Corner & Liner – The Capricorn

Zodiac Makeup Look

I’m doing something different with my Zodiac Palette Review. Normally I do a Review + 3 Look video but because this is a themed palette I will be posting 4 separate themed tutorials for the Water, Air, Earth & Fire signs. These tutorials will also be available on my YouTube channel. For the time being here’s a look I created with the palette without worrying about which shades go with which signs.

Zodiac Signs

What’s your Zodiac Sign?
What shade is your favourite in the ColourPop Zodiac Palette?

Thank you for reading loves, I hope you enjoyed this post. I can’t wait to share some themed looks with you guys and a new series that I’ve been working on for the Fall 😉 You can find all of my ColourPop reviews Here. Please like & subscribe <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ YouTube ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Always Cleia

 

 

Follow:
Share:

28 Comments

  1. August 23, 2018 / 11:01 am

    Most of the reviews I’ve read say the same things. I think the shades are gorgeous but I’m not into the color story as much lol. I think they’re good on their own. Wouldn’t personally buy it because I have some of those shades and I can’t really justify owning it, however, love the packaging!
    PS I’m a Scorpio lol. So misunderstood lmao.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 24, 2018 / 11:48 pm

      That’s completely fair! I feel like with so many palettes on the market after a while shades start to get repetitive. I need to take a break from buying eyeshadow palettes now, I have way too many Lol!
      YAY for meeting another Scoprio! Just about everyone who commented has been a Pisces or a Scorpio haha

      • August 26, 2018 / 12:25 pm

        Yeah that’s what sucks and I also feel like we have had so many releases that it’s hard to get exciting about each one and at least for me, I’ve started noticing similarities in some palettes so I’ve been turned off by most, so now I have NO idea what palette I want to get next 😧
        Omg really? I haven’t met another scorpio yet or maybe they just haven’t said anything lol

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          August 27, 2018 / 3:04 pm

          So true.. I was excited at first for the new Too Faced Tutti Fruiti collection but when I looked at the palettes they both contained shades I already had.
          To be fair I don’t think that astrology comes up as a topic unless someone is already super into them. I don’t even know what Zodiac sign my husband is Lol

          • August 28, 2018 / 2:59 am

            Oh yeah, I saw it but it didn’t excite me LOL.
            True, I like astrology, I look into it every once in a while 🙂

  2. August 22, 2018 / 3:16 pm

    OMG I love that you are going to be doing element themed looks!!! That is so awesome. I haven’t dipped into this palette yet, but I’m a bit nervous about pisces. Hopefully concealer will keep it on!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 22, 2018 / 7:51 pm

      I’ve been so excited to post them, the wildfire smoke is seriously messing with my camera lately though. I can’t get an image that isn’t super yellow. Hopefully I can get a few up next week!
      Is the smoke pretty bad for you in Victoria?
      Let me know if you find a good way to work with the Pisces shade! I haven’t used it much either, it always fades on me 🙁

      • August 22, 2018 / 7:54 pm

        That’s awful! It’s been around for the last two-three weeks, but just got much worse on Monday. It’s got to be a lot worse in Vancouver and the interior though so I’m counting my blessings. My brother lives in Vancouver and he’s gotten a sore throat and a cough etc. from it. Hoping for a change in wind soon!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          August 24, 2018 / 11:42 pm

          My sister in law lives there too! She’s had headaches from the smoke. I hope the air clears up soon…

  3. August 20, 2018 / 3:29 am

    I’m not into astrology but I love the packaging and concept of this palette, I find it super interesting! Especially the arrangement of the eyeshadows depending on the element sign. I must admit I love the shade Scorpio (not because I’m a Scorpio lol), it’s so pretty and has to be one of my favourite shades from this palette! Fab review as always my lovely x

    http://new-lune.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 22, 2018 / 7:39 pm

      I read horoscopes sometimes but I never really take them seriously, but there are so many people that take astrology to heart so I find that interesting at least too, even if I don’t really believe in it. She did such a good job with this palette though, I love the little constellations!
      Scorpio is sooo pretty! I love that I’m finally getting some beautiful purples in my collection 🙂 Thanks for reading! xx

  4. Makeup by Erin
    August 17, 2018 / 6:08 pm

    I’m a Pisces, which is why I’m so sad the Pisces shade isn’t better. I was sooooo looking forward to it. 😭

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 17, 2018 / 9:25 pm

      oh my gosh, all the bloggers I regularly talk to are telling me that they’re Pisces!! According to google Scorpios and Pisces are often friends so I’m starting to think there’s something to this astrology stuff…
      But yeah, I wish that shade stayed on better!

      • Makeup by Erin
        August 24, 2018 / 7:36 pm

        Haha, omg thats so cool!

  5. August 17, 2018 / 3:46 pm

    I love this palette so much! 😻 I always wanted to be a Scorpio because all my favorite people are Scorpios but I’m a Pisces!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 17, 2018 / 9:21 pm

      lol that’s awesome! But the question is would they still be your favourite people if you were a scorpio too? Do scorpios get along? Mysteries to ponder…
      We’re both water signs though, the internet tells me that Pisces and Scorpios get along really well so there must be something to that!

      • August 18, 2018 / 12:48 am

        Haha water signs do get along! My husband and my brother are both cancer (the other water sign) and I get along really well with them! I don’t think that’s the same with all the elements though.. mysteries to ponder indeed! 😊
        After Kathleen announced the zodiac palette I made my husband do his natal chart to see what his rising sign and moon signs are! 😂 He was like “okay, whatever makes you happy… 🙄” 🤣

  6. August 17, 2018 / 3:25 pm

    Really such a pretty palette. And your makeup look is everything! I find astrology fun! I’m a Pisces and thought the Pisces shade actually matched my aesthetic lol Too bad to hear that it didn’t last when you applied it dry. Aside from that, this is a palette I need in my life haha! x

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 17, 2018 / 9:19 pm

      Thank you! I like how it turned out, it’s like a smokey blue =D
      I can totally see you wearing that Pisces shade! Just think of all the outfits you could match it too 🙂 I wish it lasted longer but I’m hoping a decent setting spray will help.
      Thanks for reading xx

  7. August 17, 2018 / 2:03 pm

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this palette. I think it’s so beautiful! I actually signed up for a giveaway where they’re giving away the whole collection, so hopefully I win. Great post Cleia xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 17, 2018 / 9:17 pm

      I hope you win the giveaway, that would be awesome!

  8. August 16, 2018 / 6:45 pm

    I’m an Aquarius like Kathleen, what’s your starsign? I like the blue packaging more than the black too haha! The look you created is super pretty and I’m looking forward to your themed tutorials. Pisces is such a pretty shade, shame about it not lasting with certain setting sprays.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 16, 2018 / 9:04 pm

      I’m a scorpio! Apparently thats a water sign? I’m not super into astrology but I find it fun to read horoscopes sometimes 😂
      There are so many cool colour combos you can do with this palette, and even more of you start pulling in dream st.
      I need to find a better spray for Pisces, its so beautiful that it kills me it didn’t last 😭 Thanks for reading!

      • August 16, 2018 / 9:08 pm

        Aquarius is the water bearer so I’m fairly sure it’s a water sign 😊 or were you meaning Scorpio is a water sign?

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          August 17, 2018 / 9:14 pm

          When I looked it up google says that Pisces, Scorpio and Cancer are the water signs.
          Aquarius is an air element sign but also a water bearer which doesn’t pertain to it’s element but rather the carrying of the water. Apparently the water represents our emotions?
          Astrology is so confusing!!

          • August 17, 2018 / 10:24 pm

            Oh ok, interesting lol!

  9. August 16, 2018 / 8:06 am

    Amazing review!! The palette is absolutely gorgeous, I wouldn’t buy it cause I already own similar shades sadly. I am Gemini but I love The Aquarius shade, it’s so beautiful!!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 16, 2018 / 9:39 am

      Oh darn, well at least you can save a bit of money! The aquarius shade is so unique, it’s really pretty. There are so many fun colour combos you can do 🙂 Thanks for reading! ❤

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: