elf X Jkissa Palette Review

Oh my gosh guys, I don’t know why it took me so long to get this review up. Seriously, I was so excited when I found out that JKissa finally landed her own brand collaboration and I ordered it immediately. I had been hoping that she would collaborate with ColourPop for a long time, but I wasn’t expecting an e.l.f. Cosmetics collaboration. The more I thought about it the more I liked the idea. e.l.f is very affordable and generally makes good products for the price point. The PR Tattoo Vault only retailed for $23USD which is incredible!

I couldn’t get my hands on the vault but I was able to pick up the palette and the mascara in JKissa’s collab. There was also a blue eyeliner in the collection but I passed because I didn’t think I would reach for it. I also picked up a few e.l.f. products to try out which you can check out in my new makeup haul Here. So is this palette any good? Keep reading to find out!

*This palette is unfortunately no longer available and will not be getting a restock so I only included one makeup look instead of my usual three.

elf x jkissa eyeshadow palette review

elf x JKissa Palette Review

This e.l.f. x Jkissa palette doesn’t have a name which is mildly disappointing to me. It retails for $12USD and contains seven eye shadows. It comes with a little double sided fluff and packing brush. This palette definitely isn’t for the faint of heart with the acid green & bright orange shades. You have to be at least a little interested in colour to appreciate the colour story which is JKissa’s whole thing anyways.

JKISSA x Elf

elf JKISSA Palette & Mascara Review

Packaging

The packaging of the elf x Jkissa Palette is really cute! It screams Jkissa and is small and compact. Compact packaging like this doesn’t waste any space and I’m getting tired of bulky packaging. It’s hard to store and tough to travel with so I’m here for this little palette that maximizes makeup space.

The design on the lid has little stars on it and JKissa written in silver. It reminds me of outer space!

My only issue with the packaging is that the palette only opens to a 90 degree angle. This is super annoying for me as I like to have a wider angle on my palette mirrors when I use them. It’s not a deal breaker but I notice it every time I use the Jkissa Palette.

elf JKissa Eyeshadow Palette & Jkissa Mascara

Colour Story

The colour story in JKissa’s palette is exactly what I would expect from her. The acid green shade Alien is very much something that I would expect to see on her channel, same with the bright orange! And the Orange is called Mac N Cheese, how awesome is that? And accurate I might add.

I love that there’s a lilac shade! This is one of the first lilacs that has ever shown up on my eyes properly. It’s very pigmented and has a small amount of shimmer. It’s stunning! The elf x Jkissa palette isn’t an eyeshadow palette that I would reach for everyday but it’s certainly fun! And let’s be honest, a lot of us would be disappointed if JKissa released something that leaned more neutral than colourful.

JKissa ELF Palette Review

Pigmentation, Fallout & Blend

I was absolutely thrilled because JKissa commented on this photo on my insagram feed! She also reposted it to her stories too which was amazing. Eeek Fan girl Moment!

I wasn’t sure what to expect from the the formula of these shadows. It’s been a long time since I wore e.l.f. eyeshadow, I had one of their quads in a project pan last Spring but I’ve never tried their larger palettes. I was pretty sure that anything JKissa put her name on would be good.

These shades have good pigmentation which can be easily controlled by tapping out your brush. The mattes are buildable and blend pretty well. I didn’t really like the blending side of the brush that was included with the palette, it’s too flimsy for me so I use my own brushes with the palette instead.

The shimmer shade, 23 is such a beautiful highlight shade. I wasn’t expecting that at all, in the promo photos from e.l.f. I honestly thought it was matte. Even when JKissa was using it in her videos the camera didn’t do it justice. It’s the perfect inner corner, brow bone, or even cheek bone highlight!

I didn’t experience much fallout from the elf x Jkissa palette.

elf JKISSA Collaboration

Wear Time

These shadows unfortunately creased and faded when I primed my eyes with concealer and setting powder. I experience this phenomenon when I use almost any eyeshadow formula so I might just have weird eyelids or something.

I used an actual eyeshadow primer like Too Faced Shadow Insurance or the Morphe Eyelid Primer to extend the wear time and minimize creasing. I always recommend using a primer to extend the wear time of your eyeshadow! I don’t have oily eyelids so it’s weird that they creased so much. As I said, I think my eyelids are weird.

I experience no creasing and minimal fading when I use a primer. These shades wore on me for a full 10 hours without fading with a primer!

JKissa x Elf Rainbow Makeup Look

Makeup Look | e.l.f. x Jkissa Palette

JKissa has a video up of 4 looks you can create with this palette. The first two were basically the same look, just built upon each other. She wanted to showcase that you can create daytime looks as well as bold & colorful looks but I wanted to see these shades in their bright, colorful glory! Check out her video for some more natural looks with fun pops of color.

Since it’s currently Pride Month I wanted to do a look that looked a bit like a rainbow on my eyes. I’ve been so inspired lately seeing all the Pride looks on Instagram and as a girl who loves colorful makeup this green, orange, purple & red look spoke to me.

*Update: this look is similar to one of the looks Jkissa shared in her video. I just mirrored the rainbow on my lower lash line instead of the blue liner that she used! Sorry for the similarities

Makeup Details:

It Cosmetics CC+ Cream | Pixi Beauty Pixiglow Cake in Champagne Glow | Glossier Niteshine Concentrate in Platinum Rose | Milk Makeup Luminous Blur Stick | e.l.f. Beautifully Bare Satin Lipstick | Stila Stay All Day Liquid Liner | Colourpop So Juicy Gloss in Princess Cut | Esqido Unisyn Lashes in Peaches & Cream

What do you guys think!?

JKissa Eyeshadow Palette

Who’s your favourite beauty influencer?

Overall I think the elf x Jkissa collaboration was a good one. I also enjoyed her brown mascara but I won’t be touching on it because you can’t get it anymore. It’s sad that this palette won’t be getting a restock, it makes this review feel irrelevant to me but I’m still happy to have gotten the chance to share it with you guys. Let me know who your favourite beauty influencer is and what your dream collab would be! Talk soon x

elf x Jkissa palette review & tutorial!

Follow:
Share:

26 Comments

  1. July 17, 2019 / 6:26 am

    I so enjoyed this review & don’t think it was irrelevant at all. πŸ™‚ love the look you created & that’s so freakin’ cool she posted your photo to her story/left you a comment!

    • July 19, 2019 / 7:51 pm

      I’m glad you didn’t think it was irrelevant! JKissa is super sweet for reposting and she tweeted that she was going to read my review! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚ x

      • July 19, 2019 / 7:55 pm

        That’s so cool, Cleia!! Congratulations!! πŸ˜€

  2. July 7, 2019 / 6:12 pm

    I’ve been super interested in seeing your review and eyelook for this palette. I feellike Elf palettes are kind of hit or miss, but I hear that they’ve been doing better more recently. While I don’t know Jkissa, and I wasn’t sure that this was a palette I was going to use, I was still interested in the colors! I’m so glad to hear that the palette worked well, but I’m sad that this palette was already discontinued! I feel like it’s such an interesting and unique colorstory! Great post cleia xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • July 8, 2019 / 8:18 pm

      I’m pretty pleased with my first palette from them! I know it won’t necessarily be one that I reach for a lot but I’m still glad that I supported her. I wish it was still around, it’s sad that there was only one batch of palettes πŸ™

      Thank you so much for reading! x

      • July 12, 2019 / 6:39 pm

        I’m actually surprised! From what it seems like, it looks like the palette did extremely well and should have had at least one more release!

  3. June 26, 2019 / 8:16 am

    I’m so sad I never got the chance to buy any of her stuff I definitely would have loved to get this palette. I love her and even elf cosmetics is stepping up their game in terms of skincare and makeup.
    Honestly this is such a unique palette, and definitely glad that she had this kind of color story because you’re right, anything other than this wouldn’t have been “her” at all.
    Too bad it creased a bit on you, maybe it’s the formula of the shadows, I wouldn’t think it’d be your eyelids. Sometimes as good as they are they can fall short.
    Great review! I’m so behind on so many palette reviews lol.

    • June 26, 2019 / 2:25 pm

      I thought the collection would be around for a lot longer, I’m so sad they didn’t do a restock! I’m sure it would have sold out a second time.

      I’m happy that this color scheme really reflects her and her channel, it’s something unique to my collection too!

      I have trouble with just about all shadows if I don’t use a proper primer, I don’t know why! I know a lot of people who are able to prep their eyes with just concealer & setting powder but it never works for me πŸ™

      You and me both! I think I might be caught up for the time being on palettes but I have like 30 other products sitting in my review pile haha. I’m sure you’ll catch up eventually!

      • June 29, 2019 / 7:08 am

        Well if they’re not gonna be bringing it back I hope she has another collab. Hopefully I wont miss that one lol.
        Oh I see. I feel like depending on the palette I use, if I use concealer and powder, the shadows tend to crease on me too. I wonder if it may be mature skin. Who knows.
        But if you’re looking for a concealer-type eyeshadow primer, try the Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base or their I Love Colour Intesifying Eyeshadow Base. I tried the first one a long time ago and liked it and currently have the I love colour one. It looks like a concealer, so it does have a bit of coverage I’d say, but I just used it yesterday and totally loved it and it didn’t crease. Then again I was using the Violet Voss palette which the formula is super dope, I need to try it with other formulas and see if it still wont crease. But try either one of those and see how you like it compared to regular eyeshadow primers which don’t really have any coverage lol.

        • July 1, 2019 / 1:38 pm

          Yes we need a Jkissa x elf round 2!
          But.. aren’t you still in your 20s? I think of mature skin as like 35 and up!
          Thanks for the recommendations! And Knowing Essence it will be super affordable so I’ll definitely check it out once I’m done my Morphe primer. I didn’t even know that Violet Voss had an eyeshadow primer!

          • July 2, 2019 / 12:21 pm

            YES! If Desi and Katy did a round 2 with Dose of Colors, JKissa can and SHOULD too! T_T
            Heading into my 30’s sometime soon, and I don’t know, I guess it depends. I feel like my skin is becoming more and more mature and I guess most of that is just the trials and tribulations of parenthood, it’s a lot of stress and I know stress makes you age too XD LOL
            Yes Essence’s eye primers are so good! and I meant that I used the Essence primer under the Violet Voss Holy Grail palette and the shadows looked stunning with it. I’ve had creasing with other primers but not with the Essence one.

          • July 5, 2019 / 11:55 pm

            We can hope!
            I know what you mean. After this winter I started noticing more and more weird texture under my eyes and I thought it would go away with warmer weather… nope. It’s here to stay πŸ™ Stress definitely does a number on our skin too. But I would have guessed you were in your mid twenties, so I don’t think you’re aging that fast! My husband is telling me that I’m in my “late twenties” now even though I’m still 26… I’m in denial!
            OOHH I misunderstood haha. Good to know that the shadows worked with the primer!

          • July 7, 2019 / 8:10 pm

            Yeah same here. It’s weird. Maybe I just really need to do a complete detox and drink far more water than I already do and maybe my skin will change a bit idk. I haven’t been eating very well lately despite the fact that I’m exercising XD
            Ah girl we’re pretty much the same age πŸ™‚ and if I remember correctly, you’re a Scorpio too, so our bdays are around the same time πŸ™‚

          • July 8, 2019 / 8:26 pm

            I definitely know I need to drink more water! I get most of my water from coffee which I know is horrible.. maybe that’s the secret!
            We aren’t that old, and yes I forgot you were a scorpio too!

          • July 10, 2019 / 12:58 pm

            LOL I have tried to drink coffee but it doesn’t really do much for me XD so I’ll just stick to my water and smoothies haha
            Yass Scorpios! LOL

          • July 11, 2019 / 1:57 am

            Really?? When I have coffee it’s like I instantly become a proper human being, instead of a grumpy tired person haha. I guess I’m too dependent on it but I can’t start my day without it.

          • July 11, 2019 / 11:38 pm

            Perhaps dependency has a lot to do with it, I’m more of a tea person, it just makes me feel good and energized despite the fact that most of them don’t even have caffeine? LOL

          • July 14, 2019 / 12:32 pm

            Could be! Though I took your advice and drank a whole bunch of water this morning instead of coffee. It didn’t have the same effect but it’s probably better for me πŸ˜…

          • July 16, 2019 / 2:45 pm

            LOL Courtney introduced me to an app called Plant Nanny, to basically keep track of how much water I’m drinking throughout the day πŸ™‚ it has actually helped somewhat because I get reminders every 2 hours πŸ™‚

          • July 19, 2019 / 7:50 pm

            that sounds awesome actually! I could definitely use something like that.

    • June 26, 2019 / 2:12 pm

      Thank you so much! And thanks for stopping by!

  4. June 19, 2019 / 8:18 pm

    Such a shame you can’t get her stuff anymore! It all looks so amazing!

    • June 19, 2019 / 8:35 pm

      It’s so disappointing! I wish they had done at least one restock because it sold out so fast πŸ™

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: