Glossier Niteshine Highlighter Concentrate Review

Omg you guys, I have finally hopped on the Glossier band wagon! I picked up three products to try. Two were skincare products and the other a makeup product from the Glossier Play Line. Today we’re talking about the Glossier Play Niteshine Highlighter Concentrate!

Related Reading: Glossier Birthday Balm Dot Com Review

Glossier Play Niteshine Review

Glossier Play Niteshine Concentrate Review

Finally, a highlighter with depth. Made with a superior, refined pearl powder formula this buildable concentrate creates an illuminating, foil-like finish that sets and lasts. […] Niteshine’s potent sheen layers easily over makeup and comes in four high-impact shades that give you the glow you want, where you want.

Glossier Niteshine Concentrate retails for $25CAD and contains 0.34oz (10ml) of product. This cream/liquid highlighter comes in four different shades: Molten Umber, Deep Copper, Platinum Rose and Pale Pearl. Niteshine is cruelty free, vegan, dairy free, gluten free, nut free, hypoallergenic, ophthalmologist tested, dermatologist tested, and safe for use around the eyes.

Glossier Play Platinum Rose Niteshine Review

Packaging

I was very pleased when I received my order in a cardboard box made from 100% recycled paper. I was a little less pleased when I opened that box to find a plastic bubble wrap bag followed by a little cardboard box which held Niteshine wrapped in a plastic wrapper. ITS LIKE A RUSSIAN NESTING DOLL OF PACKAGING. Make it Stop please?

Onto the bottle itself: Glossier Niteshine Highlighter Concentrate is packaged in a little glass bottle with “Glossier Play” printed on it in black lettering. The cap is tiny and features a tiny rounded applicator. Many reviews on Glossier are referring to it as doe foot but there isn’t actually a flat part to make it a doe foot applicator.

Glossier Play Niteshine Review

Application

I’ve tried applying Glossier Play Niteshine a number of different ways. I’ve worn it over foundation, on bare skin, blended with a sponge, brush and my fingers. I was disappointed to find that my sponge didn’t do a good job of blending Niteshine. I usually blend out my Becca Liquid Skin Perfector with a sponge so I didn’t think that I would have an issue with it, but apparently I was wrong.

A brush worked really well for blending Niteshine once I had dotted it on my face. My preferred brush is a Luxie 660 for blending in the formula. I also had luck blending it with my fingers, but only over bare skin. When I tried to blend it with my fingers over foundation it didn’t really work properly.

Glossier Niteshine in Platinum Rose & ColourPop She Palette Look

That Glo Tho

I probably should have gone with Pale Pearl shade instead of Platinum Rose but I have so many champagne highlighters that I didn’t think another one would feel special to me. And since I’m a Platinum Blonde now Platinum Rose sounded meant to be!

When I dot my Glossier Niteshine Concentrate on my face it looks a liiitle crazy. It comes across super metallic at first but it blends out to a very natural glow. It’s more glowy than dazzling which is perfect for no-foundation days.

Even though Platinum Rose isn’t a close match for my skin tone I’m able to blend it out so that it’s not a stripe on my face. It’s so pretty!

Glossier Niteshine in Platinum Rose

However…

While I love the glow that Glossier Play Niteshine gives me I think that $25 was a little much for a highlighter that seems to look its best over bare skin. Even though I can make it work over foundation it’s harder to blend in than my Becca Liquid Skin Perfector and I would rather blend it with a sponge than a brush.

My fingers worked best for diffusing the pigment but touching my face makes me more prone to break outs and I just don’t like the feeling of makeup on my hands.

I won’t be returning my Glossier Play Niteshine but I don’t see myself ever repurchasing this formula. I wish that it had blended better. If the application was smoother I would have been able to recommend it!

Have you tried anything from Glossier Play?

Thanks for reading my review of the Glossier Play Niteshine Highlighter Concentrate. I’d love to know if you’ve tried it and what you think of Glossier in general. Talk Soon! x

 

Follow:
Share:

26 Comments

  1. July 22, 2019 / 12:07 pm

    I always have trouble blending liquid highlighters, too! This one really does look gorgeous on your cheeks though. Your entire face of makeup is just flawless!!

    • July 24, 2019 / 1:44 am

      Thank you! Liquid highlighters can be tough! I wasn’t expecting to have so much trouble. I hope you’re having a great week! 🙂

  2. July 7, 2019 / 8:02 pm

    While the shade looks stunning on you, the price for the highlighter is so much! I bought a supershock highlighter from Colourpop at ulta last month, and I’ve been obsessed! It gives me that dewy look that I love! While the Glossier one looks beautiful, I don’t know if I would spend that much on a liquid highlighter? Great review though xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • July 8, 2019 / 8:23 pm

      I completely agree!
      omg the super shock highlighters are so amazing! They definitely outperform Niteshine, and for only $8 or something like that they’re really incredible. I should just stick with those!

      • July 12, 2019 / 6:41 pm

        I am constantly surprised by how amazing colourpop products are! Not only are they super inexpensive, but they preform amazingly! This highlighter, and their gel eyeliner pencil might be my favorite products of theirs (not including the eyeshadows, and their fourth ray beauty things)

  3. July 7, 2019 / 7:59 pm

    I’m pretty disappointed to hear these weren’t amazing! I’ve been wanting to try these since Glossier released it, but I think I’m probably going to hold off now. Thanks for the review!

    • July 8, 2019 / 8:22 pm

      You’re welcome!! I wish they had more of a wow factor to them, I feel underwhelmed for what I paid. It’s still a pretty highlighter but a little too fussy for me!
      Have you tried the Becca Liquid Skin Perfector highlighters? They’re really good!

      • July 9, 2019 / 9:05 am

        Yes! I don’t want to pay that much for a subtle product that makes me work for it lol. No, I haven’t tried the Becca liquid highlighters yet, although they’ve been on my wishlist for years! I own way too many highlighters, I feel like adding a liquid highlighter to my collection where you only need the tiniest drop each time is a bad idea lol.

        • July 11, 2019 / 2:07 am

          I’m glad to have saved you some money then lol haha yeah that’s a good point. My becca highlighters are all minis and they take forEVER to use up!

          • July 11, 2019 / 10:53 pm

            Yes, exactly! I don’t think I’ll ever be able to use up a highlighter. It’s a dream of mine though LOL.

  4. July 1, 2019 / 6:07 pm

    It definitely looks gorgeous but shame it doesnt blend very well on top of foundation. Seems a bit ridiculous to pay $25 for a highlighter you cant use on top of makeup.
    However, for summer I actually prefer going foundation free, so it wouldn’t be a bad thing.
    Either way, the price is a con for me. Probably would pass on it.

    • July 1, 2019 / 7:21 pm

      That’s how I feel too! It blends okay with a brush but it sits much better on top of bare skin :S
      I don’t think you’re missing too much by passing

  5. Geraldine
    June 30, 2019 / 12:37 pm

    Omg it looks so pretty! I’ve never heard of Glossier but I do like the packaging. Definitely wouldn’t spend $25 for a bottle of highlighter though, I’m with you on that. Thanks for reviewing this, Cleia! x

    Geraldine | https://geraldinetalks.com

    • July 1, 2019 / 1:40 pm

      Yeah the things that I buy for this blog haha. I’m definitely not repurchasing!

  6. June 30, 2019 / 10:05 am

    That looks like a lovely highlighter. The Glow is gorgeous. Great review x

    • July 1, 2019 / 1:39 pm

      Thanks Rebecca! It has such a subtle pretty glow x

  7. June 28, 2019 / 8:20 pm

    Personally I think the price tag for that little bottle is insane! I like a lot of Glossier products, but I think they were playing on the whole whatever-we-offer-the-public-they’ll-buy-cause-we’re-trending kinda mentality when it comes to the new Play line. I’ve heard others complain about the blending on the Niteshine too. There are so many other great liquid highlighters out there, I think I’ll pass.

    • July 1, 2019 / 1:35 pm

      Right!? And I feel like it will get used up so much quicker than a powdered highlight. I like the look of a lot of their products but I don’t think that I would buy most of them because of how expensive they are. Over $20 for a sheer lipstick is a hard pass for me!

      • July 1, 2019 / 6:57 pm

        I’ve only tried two of their Generation G lipsticks and the only one I like is the nude (Cake). It’s one of those products that could be soooo amazing, cause the effect on the lips is really cool & innovative. But the formula isn’t quite there, in my opinion, even though they reformulated it.

        • July 1, 2019 / 7:24 pm

          darn that’s disappointing to hear, especially if they’ve reformulated once already!

          • July 2, 2019 / 7:52 am

            Yea, just a bit too dry and the darker colors were patchy AF on me! But they give you the whole blurred lip look without actually having to blur your lips, so the idea is awesome.

          • July 5, 2019 / 11:47 pm

            Ugh I hate a dry lipstick. And that sucks about the patchiness. I guess I will try the lighter shades if I ever decide to order one!

          • July 6, 2019 / 5:05 pm

            Yea, I would definitely suggest going straight to Cake, the nude-peachy one. Especially if you have dry lips.

  8. June 28, 2019 / 3:29 pm

    lovely review and that glow is gorgeous!! I actually like highlighters that you wear on bare skin so maybe I’ll check it out!!

  9. June 28, 2019 / 11:24 am

    That glow is aaamazzzing!! Though I can understand how paying $25 for a little bottle of highlighter is a bit much!! Also I noticed you have a YouTube channel, may I have the link so I can sub to your channel please? Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: