Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag Unboxing + Review

Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag

It’s Ipsy time again! My little pink envelope arrived early this month, only four days after shipping. If you haven’t heard of Ipsy, it’s a monthly makeup subscription service that ships out 4-5 deluxe and full sized products each month.This month’s Ipsy theme is Destination Chic, and the bag itself is travel themed!

About Ipsy

**Note: This post contains referral links
Price? $10 US. If you live in Canada add $4.95 for shipping.
Value? The value depends on which products you get; however, bags normally average out to around $49US. In addition each month comes with a new makeup bag.
Customize? Yes. Fill out a profile quiz to get personalized products. Also if you give feedback on your products each month you will have a greater chance of getting something you like next time, or at least that’s the idea.
Points? Yes. Earn points through referrals and reviewing the products in your glam bag. In addition you get 100 points for joining. Points can be redeemed for an extra item in your next glam bag. You can sign up HERE!

In my March Review I talked about what a fail Ipsymatch is, their profile & product matching system. I’ve been receiving almost entirely products I’ve specified I don’t want and the trend has continued into May. Let’s dive into the Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag.

Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag

IT Cosmetics No tug waterproof Mini Gel Eyeliner $11

I’m happy to see IT cosmetics, but did it have to be eyeliner? STOP SENDING ME EYELINER IPSY!!! Subscribers got this, a Glamglow treatment, or a Smashbox mascara. It glides on smoothly and stays put.

Vera Mona Smudger Brush $9.99

I can’t find this exact brush on the Vera Mona website. Maybe they sell it in a store somewhere but the only comparable item is a double ended smudger and blender brush. I have indicated no tools in my glam bags and yet I’ve gotten a brush in my last two. The brush itself is compact and has really soft bristles so I’ll probably end up using it.

Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag - Jelly Pong Pong

Jelly Pong Pong Caribbean Sun Bronzer Duo (full size?) $24.95

I specified no bronzer and oh look, Ipsy sent me one anyways. On the bright side this is cruelty free and doesn’t contain mineral oils or phthalates. The formula is pigmented and buttery and creates a sunkissed glow that’s perfect for summer. I think it would be better sold as one shade or the other when the packaging is so small, my regular brushes don’t fit in the compact very well.

Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag - Aurora Nail Polish

Aurora Nail Polish $8.99

I do love my nail polish, and I’m a fan of Aurora cosmetics. This came in Safety Orange or in Old School Pink. I was hoping for the orange and that’s what I got! It’s SO vibrant, it reminds me of Oompa Loompas. I don’t know what’s supposed to be Gel like about this, it applies like an insta dry polish and chips like one too.

Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag - Crazy Rumors Lip Balm

Crazy Rumors HibisKiss Natural Lip Color $4.99

I love lip balms and have a habit for losing them in record time. This isn’t a very expensive product, but I’ll definitely use it. I was browsing the brand’s website and they have all kinds of flavoured lip balms! Amaretto, coffee, vanilla, orange bergamot, root beer, ice cream… This specific balm is the colour (and apparently flavour) Hibiscus. It’s subtle and great for everyday wear.

Ipsy May 2016 Glam Bag - Cat

Ion batted the bag once then got bored like an unimpressed Kitty!

Final Thoughts

My glam bag worked out to around $59.92USD this month assuming the Jelly Pong Pong duo was full sized (I couldn’t find the size quantity on the website).  This will be my last Ipsy glam bag for a few months. I want to focusing on other subscriptions in the months ahead. Check out my other Ipsy reviews Here!

What did you think of this month’s glam bag?  Remember to follow/like/subscribe for more beauty subscriptions! New posts go up every Monday, Wednesday & Friday. You can also find me on Instagram  & Twitter!

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 3.37.31 PM

Follow:
Share:

6 Comments

  1. May 15, 2016 / 1:03 pm

    great items in your bag! i liked mine OK but would have loved to have received that bronzer duo! 🙂

    • May 15, 2016 / 2:55 pm

      I think it’s going to get a lot of use, I was impressed! I saw you got the smashbox mascara I was hoping for that one!

  2. Lucy Tries Beauty
    May 15, 2016 / 1:03 pm

    I think this is just a kinda meh month. Nothing that’s come so far for me has been fabulous. That said, I love how bright the Aurora polish is! I got the pink color and I love it. Did you notice it took several coats, though? I used 3 coats before it got really opaque.

    • May 15, 2016 / 2:53 pm

      I agree, I just haven’t been wowed by ipsy lately. I do like the polish though, Mine was opaque in 2 coats but the tops chipped off right away. Maybe an extra coat would help with that. I love the pink too!

      • Lucy Tries Beauty
        May 15, 2016 / 3:00 pm

        I topped it off with my Freedom polymer top coat from Julep and haven’t had any issue with chipping yet, but it did feel like a normal polish to me.

        • May 15, 2016 / 9:29 pm

          I just ran out of top coat 🙁 That’s probably my problem lol

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: