Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag Review

Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag

This is my second eagerly anticipated Ipsy bag. I had a bit of a hiccup with Ipsy last month when I emailed Ipsycare to change my subscription to annual and was supposed to be billed on February 1st for the year. Instead, they billed me two weeks early and were for whatever reason going to send me a second January bag. After some frantic emails I got it fixed, and my bank refunded me the exchange rate difference for the mistake. I’m giving them another chance this month.

If you haven’t heard of Ipsy, it’s a monthly makeup subscription service that sends out 4-5 full sized and deluxe sample sized products to try. For those of us who like to try things out before spending $50 Ipsy works out to be a pretty good deal (most of the time).

**Note: This post contains referral links

Customize? Yes. Fill out a profile quiz to get personalized products. Leaving feedback on your products each month gives you a greater chance of getting something you like the next month.
Price? $10 US. If you live in Canada add $4.95 for shipping. For me this works out to around $22CAD after the exchange rate.
Value? Bags are personalized but normally average out to around $49US. In addition each month comes with a new makeup bag.
Points? Yes. There are many options to earn rewards including referrals, following Ipsy stylists on social media, and reviewing the products in your glam bag. In addition you get 100 points just for joining. Items you can redeem points for typically are 250 to 1000 points apiece. You can sign up HERE!

Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag

The design on the bag is adorable, a pixelated heart in a letter for valentines day. The geek in me loves it even though I’m a valentines day hater. I like this a lot more than last month’s sunglasses bag and I feel like this will become the bag I keep in my purse. This month’s theme is Pretty In #Ipsypink

Ipsy February 2016 Glam BagIpsy February 2016 Glam Bag

Ion crashed my photo session, we were away for a few days and he was attention starved and curious as ever when we got back. He was all like “Oh hi there, don’t mind me I’m just going to knock your things over and lie on your Ipsy glam bag!” Silly kitty. Anyways, onto the products!

Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag - Smashbox Primer Oil

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil (.13 oz) $5.46US
One thing I love about Ipsy is that there is a possibility of getting high end products. I was really excited when I found out I was getting this item, but the size was honestly so tiny I will barely get any use out of it. The full size product is 1 oz and retails at $42US. I have combination skin so I apply only minimally to my T zone, but it does works great and absorbs quickly into drier skin. I wear powder foundation so this works as a great base.

Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag - Perfect Formula Pink Gel

Perfect Formula Pink Gel Coat (.17 oz) $8.50
The full sized version of this product is $30US. My nails chip really easily during the winter so it will be good to try a strengthening treatment. This applies easily and didn’t streak or clump as some polishes do. You really only need one coat of this stuff. I was happy to get this in this month’s bag but I won’t know for a few weeks if it actually succeeds in strengthening.

Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag Paula Dorf

Paula Dorf Baby Eyes Enhancer (0.2 oz) $10
To be honest I’m not sure I’ll use this much. Supposedly this product was “Inspired by Paula’s nephew Ethan’s beautiful baby eyes”. Maybe I’m weird but that creeps me out. The pencil comes off more orangey than pink. The swatch below has this pencil on the right. If worn on the waterline it does brighten the eyes, but I usually use a darker shade as a liner. This is headed for the gift pile.

VINTAGE by Jessica Liebeskind Lipgloss (.14 oz) $10?
This appears to be sample sized but the website doesn’t have a size listed for the full product. I’m estimating this lipgloss to be half sized. The product on Jessica Liebeskind’s website is much prettier with a gold lid, but it is the same lip gloss. This comes off as a shimmery pink-brown on the left swatch above. I do appreciate the texture of this, some lip glosses are more sticky than smooth but this applies nicely and didn’t glue my lips together. I don’t know how I feel about the sparkle. The applicator wand is a brush tip.

Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag Pure Brazilian Masque

Pure Brazilian Deep Conditioning Hair Masque (1.5 oz) $6?
To see the full price of this hair masque you need to make an account with the company. I’m going to estimate it’s value at around $6, but if you know the actual price please correct me. I’ve never heard of this brand before but I’m interested in trying this hair masque. I’ve never used a deep conditioning treatment before, and while I’m not convinced that my hair needs it, I would still like to see how it works. It smells like baby powder so I don’t know how I feel about that. I would rather have a fruity or floral smell.

Ipsy February 2016 Glam Bag

THE VERDICT: 2/5
All in all I’m disappointed with this month’s glam bag bag. I have been reading all of your reviews and I feel a little cheated at the price points. Most people I saw were getting 2-3 full sized items in their bags, and my products were all tiny little samples with the exception of the half sized lip gloss. The only item I was fully happy with was the perfect formula nail treatment. I wish that the Smashbox primer was a bigger since it’s one of the only items I’ll use.

I’ll use two out of three items in this bag, and I’m not sure if it’s worth the $22CAD I am paying. If our dollar was up and I was just paying the $10 those in the US are paying I wouldn’t be too concerned, but if my next bag is like this one I might be taking a break from Ipsy. We’ll see. Everyone gets different items so maybe this month was just a dud for me.

I hope your luck was better this month than mine,

XO, C.

 

 

Follow:
Share:

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: