Ipsy January 2018 Glam Bag Unboxing + Review

Ipsy January 2018 _Game Face_ Glam Bag

Hey everyone! My first Ipsy Glam Bag of the year arrived in the mail this week. To be honest I’m not really feeling the Ipsy January 2018 Glam Bag. I’m happy that skipping the month is an option now (just hit “cancel subscription” in your account, and then you’ll get a prompt to skip the month), but I’ve noticed that there have been less giveaways, less brand deals, and for me less high ticket items in my glam bag as the months have gone on.

Ipsy points rewards have also been tiny the past few months and have costed more for less product. Subscribers still receive the same amount of points each month for reviewing their glam bag products so it irks me that it’s getting harder and harder to redeem points for samples that shrink each month. I’ve decided that I’m going to spend my points for February’s glam bag and take a break after that.

About Ipsy

Ipsy is a $10USD monthly makeup subscription service that includes 4-5 deluxe and full sized beauty products each month.
Shipping: Free to USA. Add $4.95 for shipping to Canada.
Value: Glam bags can average to around $49USD, but this can vary as glam bags are semi-customized.
Customize: Fill out a profile quiz for personalized products and leave feedback on your glam bag contents each month for better curation.
Points: Earn points through referrals and reviewing your glam bag. In addition you get 100 points for joining which can be redeemed for extra items. You can sign up HERE!

Ipsy is now Skippable! There isn’t a skip button on your account, but when you hit the Cancel button there’s an option to skip instead of cancelling.

Ipsy January 2018 Glam Bag

The Glam Bag

The theme this month is “Game Face” and the bag is supposed to be gym shoes inspired with a mesh pattern and lime green trim. The bag reminds me of a radioactive caterpillar. Even though I do consider myself to be somewhat athletic this design doesn’t appeal to me.

I also feel that the theme, Game Face, is doesn’t fit the current season. All the promo photos show people outside having fun on a track field while I’m shivering inside away from the -30 degree temperatures! But I digress, let’s get to what matters — the products!

Ipsy January 2018 Glam Bag Coffee Scrub

Global Beauty Care Charcoal Mud Mask $2USD Sample Size
I’ve never tried this brand before. Charcoal is supposed to draw dirt & impurities out of your skin so I’ll have to try it out to see if this mask does the job. My skin has been acne prone lately so both the scrub and this mask came at a good time.

The Coffee Scrub Coconut Coffee Scrub ~$9.50USD Half Size?
think this is a sample but there aren’t any size markings on the website. I’m a little bit concerned about how my drains will react to this scrub because I’ve been told by a plumber that coffee grounds are one of the worst things for your sinks. Have any of you used this, and were your drains okay afterwards!? This scrub is supposed to help with acne but I it once already in the shower and the granules are way too harsh for my face! It’s a good as a body scrub though and left my shower smelling like fresh coffee.

Ipsy January 2018 Bella Pierre Brow Gel

BellePierre Stay Put Brow Gel $25 Full Size
This brow gel comes in a pomade style jar with a brush on top. It would be more effective for me if the brush was a spoolie and not a painter style brush, but I suppose it has it’s uses. The brush pulls out of the cap and clicks in to extend the wand. Ipsters received either the shade Licorice or Cardamom. It’s weird to me that Ipsy only offered a blonde and black hair shade instead of the middle ground, Chestnut. I received Cardamom, the lightest shade. Unfortunately I just dyed my hair a deep ultraviolet so darker would have been better, but there’s no way for Ipsy to know that.

Ipsy January 2018 Ciate

Ciaté London Fierce Flicks Liquid Eyeliner $19USD Full Size
This Ciaté eyeliner is full sized. Ipsy claims this liquid liner makes cat eyes easy to draw and that it’s long lasting & smudgeproof. I won’t be using it right away because I’ve got two other eyeliner pens on the go right now but it’s nice knowing I have a backup.

Ipsy January 2018 Hola Neon Lipstick

Hola Neon Matte Liquid Lipstick $17USD
I’ve never heard of Hola Neon before but the website looks super fun! It’s so bright and colourful. I’m of course happy to receive a liquid lipstick in my glam bag and this mauve shade looks like it will be wearable for every day, even if it’s a little darker on the lips than it appears in the tube. It dries down quickly to a powdery matte finish. I’ve worn this twice since receiving it and am planing on reviewing it soon.

Ipsy January 2018 Glam Bag Swatches

Value 

My glam bag this month surprisingly had a higher value than usual at $72.50USD. I don’t know if the coffee scrub is full sized or not but even estimated at half the full value my glam bag is high for the first time in months.

This is a rare month where I’ll use pretty much everything in the glam bag (aside from the bag itself). I’m still planning on calling it quits with Ipsy soon. I would rather subscribe to Boxy Charm at this point and get full sized products in the mail each month than all the little samples I usually receive.  

Ipsy January 2018 Glam Bag

Were you happy with your glam bag this month? 

Thank you so much for reading! If you want your own Ipsy glam bag in the mail you can sign up HERE. Please remember to like & subscribe for email notifications on the sidebar <3

 Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 3.37.31 PM

Follow:
Share:

21 Comments

  1. January 24, 2018 / 10:58 pm

    I got the charcoal mask and the ciate eyeliner too. Im excited to try both of those. I’m also glad that we can skip months too.

    • January 25, 2018 / 1:25 am

      Skipping months is awesome! I’m really glad it was added as a feature. I hope you love all your products this month!

  2. January 24, 2018 / 10:10 pm

    I loved your bag, I will want to try the coffee scrub and they sent you a good size! I posted what I got in my ipsy January glam bag last week, would love if you could check it out!

    • January 25, 2018 / 1:24 am

      It’s nice when you get bigger sample sizes from ipsy 😊 Love your post!

      • January 25, 2018 / 10:14 am

        Yes that is honestly the best, and thank you so much I really appreciate it! ☺️

  3. January 24, 2018 / 7:52 pm

    I really want to try the face scrub. My drains can suffer, I don’t care as much. Florida plumbing is terrible anyway. The eyeliner, it’s good and super easy to get a nice wing, but it’s not smudge-proof! It comes off super easy. The other day I cried and it smudged. I love your pictures. Xxx

    • January 25, 2018 / 1:21 am

      Haha it’s just such a hassle to unclog them, and our landlord lives a province over if we have any issues. So far so good though!
      I’m excited to try the eyeliner out! Thanks for letting me know it’s not smudge proof, I’ll have to be careful 😮 Thanks for reading! Xx

  4. Jen xo
    January 24, 2018 / 2:36 pm

    Got a nice selection of items 😊 I have use a coffee scrub quite a few times and my drains were fine x

      • Jen xo
        January 24, 2018 / 2:47 pm

        I never even thought about that tbh I don’t think coffee grounds are that thick so didn’t think they would be an issue for drains maybe it’s if you rinse coffee grounds down like 3 times a day or something lol

        • January 24, 2018 / 2:57 pm

          Probably, we used to use a french press that we used a lot and the drain did get clogged from rinsing them in the sink every day, now I never put coffee grounds in the drain lol

  5. January 24, 2018 / 2:00 pm

    I love the sound of that coffee scrub, but too bad it is too harsh! Coffee is only bad for your drains if you regularly put way way too much down there. That small bag of scrub will be fine 🙂 That brow gel is very strange.. I would not use that lol. Who wants to plaster their brow hairs down..? I’m curious about that liquid liner, and the lipstick shade looks so perfect for the season!
    Seems like a reasonably good bag, but Ipsy is not something that attracts me. Also, in my opinion that bag is ugly AF. And you’re right, it is definitely not suitable for the season! I’m sure they are based in California. Sometimes I hear about awesome items and am like OMG! But I have heard that there is often up to as many as 45 items that you have a chance of getting, so with only 5 of those being amazing, you don’t have a great chance of receiving them!
    I had Ipsy for 2 months last year, and they royally screwed things up, so I cancelled right away. I’ve learned that I am just not as interested in subscriptions that are all samples, although if Sephora Play ever came to Canada I would buy the shit out of that 😛

    • January 24, 2018 / 2:04 pm

      Oh good, my drains should be fine then!
      Yeah, I’m not really sure what to make of thw brow gel, The colour is too light for me and the brush is weird.

    • January 24, 2018 / 2:07 pm

      Sorry I totally wasn’t done replying but I hot send by accident xD
      The Lipstick is my favorite thing in the bag this month. And the bag is sooo ugly. I don’t even like shoes that look like that!
      I’m pretty fed up with ipsy, the service seems to go downhill every month and I’d rather get full sized products from boxy charm. Hell yes I’d subscribe to Sephora play, I’ve been waiting for it for so long!!

      • January 24, 2018 / 2:10 pm

        Yeah, believe me, if you cancel your subscription you won’t regret it. Every time I even feel the slightest bit of regret, I read one of these Ipsy posts and I’m like nope, I’m ok lol.

  6. January 24, 2018 / 12:57 pm

    I got the liner too. Everything else is different, but I was happy with this bag!

    • January 24, 2018 / 1:51 pm

      I’m happy with the products I got too, I’ve just been annoyed with ipsy in general lately. The lipstick is my favourite this month!
      Glad you liked your bag too!

  7. January 24, 2018 / 10:07 am

    Ooh, I’ve always wanted to try a coffee body scrub, they look so exfoliating! Never thought about the whole thing with coffee grounds plugging up your shower drain though…blegh!
    The Hola Neon Matte mauvey shade is SO pretty!
    I have a friend that has an Ipsy subscription and has a massive collection of products from their bags that she never uses…I’m like WHY are you still subscribed??

    • January 24, 2018 / 1:50 pm

      This one smells so good! I’m fairly addicted to my morning coffee, I absolutely love the scent 😁 I used it once and so far my drains are ok, I think if I space out using it will be fine.
      The lipstick is my favourite in the bag this month. I wore it when I visited my parents house yesterday and my Dad was very much like “I don’t like your purple hair. Or the lipstick. Its purple”. He’s very old fashioned, I just rolled my eyes 😆
      Products can really accumulate from ipsy! I think I need to take a step back for now and use some things up, and maybe try a different subscription

  8. January 24, 2018 / 9:48 am

    I’m excited to see how the Ciate eyeliner works for you! I’m always on the lookout for a new liquid liner, aha! Also I had the Lush Coffee body/face scrub, and my drains were fine! xxx

    Melina | http://www.ivefoundwaldo.com

    • January 24, 2018 / 1:45 pm

      I think I’ll be opening it sooner than later! Good to know about the coffee scrub! I won’t worry so much then haha 😂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: