Look Fantastic February 2018 Beauty Box Review

Look Fantastic February 2018 Beauty Box Review

It’s been a full year since I received a Look Fantastic box. With my recent break up with my Ipsy subscription (I talk about that in my January 2018 Glam Bag Review) I decided to try out some different subscriptions this year.

I only reviewed one Look Fantastic box last year because I was put off by the currency buttons not working. When I ordered my box with the currency set to CAD I was charged in USD instead. Look Fantastic was very unapologetic about the issue. When I took a look again this year the currency buttons are working properly now. The price of the box clearly stated CAD. I decided to give Look Fantastic another shot now that the issue has been fixed.

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-11-00-50-am

Cost: $19US/$25CAD/Β£13 (less with longer subscription terms)
Shipping: Free
Includes: 4-6 beauty related items, normally at least 2+ full size products.

*note: This post contains my look fantastic referral link

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box

To go along with the theme of love I included this cute Valentine’s Day card that my in-laws gave us from “our cat”. Adorbs!

Look Fantastic Extra Shipping Fees

One thing I have to note before getting into the products is that Look Fantastic’s customer service hasn’t improved. They’ve changed shipping companies since I got my last box, and the one they chose charged me $12.17 in Brokerage and Import fees. That’s over 50% of what the box itself costs so I was pulling out my hair when I got my invoice.

Unfortunately I chose the 3 month subscription option which means that I would be paying an additional $36.51 in fees over the course of the subscription and I wasn’t okay with that. I contacted LF and asked if there was any way I could cancel my subscription. The website states that there is a 14 day cancellation policy where customers can cancel their order for any reason.

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box

“Meraki: Doing Something With Soul, Creativity or Love”

LF first quoted me some fine print saying that my order might be subject to extra fees at the border. I wasn’t expecting any fees because y last order didn’t have any. There typically isn’t fees for a $23CAD order. Looking at my invoice I was only charged $2.79CAD in duties & fees, but the rest was a shipping company “brokerage fee” even though they handed my box over to Canada post. For me it’s NOT okay to be charged so much extra by a shipping company. I know this isn’t necessarily LF’s fault, but I wanted to cancel my subscription.

After insistently emailing Look Fantastic a few times they said they would “try” to cancel my subscription but they may not be able to and it is “best to finish off the remainder on the subscription.” I told them that I was within the 14 day cancellation policy and their Customer Service was kind of like, oh I guess you’re right.

So I don’t actually know if my subscription is cancelled and I still might get charged next month. If you live in the UK you’ll be fine, but in Canada & the US keep in mind that you might get an invoice for extra charges if you decide to subscribe to Look Fantastic.

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box & Elle UK Magazine

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box Packaging

Look Fantastic
February Beauty Box

Look Fantastic as usual shipped in a cute little box that contained the products as well as the Elle UK magazine. I subscribe to Elle Canada so I find it interesting to read the UK version! The products were wrapped in tissue and cushioned in pink crinkly paper. They were really going for the Valentines Day vibe!

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box - Product Magazine

The theme for February is “The Beauty Rendezvous”. The product magazine details all of the products for the month of February and includes date night beauty tips for Valentines Day (I know it’s already over, but I’m just getting my box now).

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box - Caudalie & Bella Pierre

The Products

Caudalie Vinosource SOS Thirst Quenching Serum 15ml (half size) $24.50USD
This serum absorbs mega-fast and is supposed to be great for dry & sensitive skin (aka me). According to Look Fantastic this serum “diffuses water to restore moisture balance and leave your skin soft and supple”. It contains grape water and hyaluronic acid for “a radiant and dewy look”.

BellaPierre Shimmer Roll in Champagne 2g ~ $8.33USD
Bella Pierre products are usually hit & miss for me. Only time will tell if I like this one, but so far this shimmer rollerball is leaning towards being a hit. It’s basically a roll on highlighter that you can use on your cheekbones, eyelids, or wherever you need some extra glow. I couldn’t find this exact product on the BellaPierre website so I linked to a kit of 6 and estimated on the value based on that price.

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box - Elemis & Filorga

Elemis Pro-Collagen Marine Cream 15ml $38.40
I was really excited to try this out. I’ve been trying to incorporate more anti aging products into my skincare routine so this is right up my alley. The formula feels really soothing on my skin when I apply it and it smells nice too! According to Look Fantastic this cream “has been shown to reduce the depth of wrinkles, improve skin firmness and [improve] hydration in as little as 14 days”. Unfortunately this sample definitely won’t last me 14 days, but I’m enjoying using it so far! It’s also craaazy expensive, it retails for $128USD for a 50ml bottle.

Filorga Meso-Mask 15ml $17.46USD
This mask is supposed to deliver radiance and luminosity while targeting the appearance of wrinkles. Look Fantastic also claims that meso-mask fights signs of fatigue and even out skin tone. I don’t have a moisturizing face mask right now so I’m excited to give this a try!

February 2018 Look Fantastic Box - Trifle & Dr PawPaw

Dr. PawPaw Original Multi-purpose Clear Balm 10ml $4USD
I’m feeling pretty meh about this balm. I tried the Cake Beauty Everything Balm last year and while in theory a miracle balm with 10+ uses sounds great I just wasn’t into it. This balm is the same idea, it can be used on the lips, on the top of the cheekbones as a highlight, to tame brows, moisturize elbows, etc. etc. But so can vaseline, so I don’t think this product is anything particularly new. Instead of absorbing into my lips it sat on top, so I don’t think I’ll be using this.

Trifle Cosmetics Sublime Lip Scrub in Sugar Pear 10ml $17.95USD
I’ve seen Trifle Cosmetics in subscription box reviews but I’ve never tried the product myself. This little tube is full size. I’m actually kind of excited to use this even though I received two lip scrubs for Christmas so I don’t really need this product right now. Sugar Pear sounds amazing and I can smell if a bit through the unopened tube! It contains Pecan Seed Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Cacao Butter and is infused with toffee & Pear Extract.

wp-1519181769262..jpg

Final Thoughts

The value of my box totalled up to $110.64USD which is amazing. This knocks Ipsy out of the park. After fees I paid around $35CAD for the box. The value is still there but I’m still annoyed that I had to pay extra.

At first I thought that the value would be lower, but once I totalled up the values I realized I got some serious skincare products. I’m excited to use the face mask, serum and moisturizer and I’ll try out that scrub once I finish one that’s already open.

Have you tried Look Fantastic’s Beauty box and what do you think about February’s products?

Thanks so much for reading everyone! If you enjoyed this post please like & subscribe. Remember to follow me on social media <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 3.37.31 PM

Follow:
Share:

16 Comments

  1. February 23, 2018 / 10:59 am

    I’ve never heard of this box but it’s pretty cool, it’s always annoying to pay extra but the box value is unreal.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 23, 2018 / 4:59 pm

      I’m a lot less mad than I could have been given that I enjoyed most of the products!

  2. February 22, 2018 / 4:57 pm

    What a crappy customer service experience! 😑
    Onto the products: I’ve used that Caudalie Thirst Quenching Serum before and it’s great.
    I always hear about Elemis but it’s so pricey. Sometimes I hope I’d hate a sample of an expensive item so I wouldn’t want to pay big bucks for the full size! πŸ˜›

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 22, 2018 / 10:08 pm

      Yeah, I guess not much has changed for Look Fantastic…
      Everyone is telling me the serum is great, I like it so far!
      I really really like the elemis cream, I’ve been using it for the past few days. I wish it wasn’t so expensive πŸ˜₯

  3. February 21, 2018 / 7:01 pm

    Oh man I hate all the extra hassle they caused you! When I first saw this post I was like uh oh now I’m going to want another subscription box, but no. I’m sure the products are great, but I just can’t stand paying fees like that. Nice to see that you got some good stuff though! And at least the value is there. Things you tell yourself to console yourself lol.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 21, 2018 / 9:58 pm

      I knooow it’s crazy. Their customer service is really terrible too, you really need to push for them to do anything to help you. I wish I actually knew if my subscription was cancelled or not πŸ˜• I’m happy with the products though!

      • February 21, 2018 / 10:00 pm

        yeah that is so unprofessional and distasteful….. Kind of unusual these days too!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          February 21, 2018 / 10:06 pm

          It’s true, I’ve been getting great customer service from brands lately so it’s a bit odd when a company is really unhelpful and quotes fine print at you when there’s an issue!

  4. February 21, 2018 / 4:27 pm

    I would be annoyed if I had to pay extra fees too. And the customer service sounds terrible!

    That aside, the Caudalie serum looks lovely, and I’ve heard really good things about Elemis and Dr. PawPaw! The lip scrub sounds like it would smell amazing.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 21, 2018 / 10:05 pm

      If my order was more expensive I would understand fees, but not on a $23 order!
      Most of the skincare brands were new to me this month, I can already tell that I love the elemis cream and caudalie serum though!

  5. February 21, 2018 / 11:44 am

    It’s so annoying when you have to pay extra for taxes etc. Why brands just don’t say it’s a gift or something πŸ˜€
    Also, I love caudalie, so I’m sure you’ll enjoy that sample!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 21, 2018 / 1:09 pm

      It would be nice wouldn’t it? I wouldn’t be so annoyed if the brokerage fee wasn’t higher than the actual duties & fees!
      Yes I’m excited for the caudalie serum!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 21, 2018 / 1:07 pm

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 21, 2018 / 1:08 pm

      Exactly, I still got good value products as opposed to random brands I’ve never heard of. And my ColourPop order didn’t have a customs charge so I guess it balances out πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: