Look Fantastic March 2018 | Review

Look Fantastic March 2018 _ ReviewDo you remember last month when I cancelled my Look Fantastic Subscription because the shipping courier charged me a 50% markup in brokerage fees? Well, Look Fantastic cancelled my subscription but I got charged again anyways. Luckily LF was really helpful this time around and refunded the amount but the box somehow went out anyways. I guess I get to review the March Look Fantastic box this month!

Look Fantastic March 2018

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-11-00-50-am

Cost: $19US/$25CAD/£13 (less with longer subscription terms)
Shipping: Free
Includes: 4-6 beauty related items, normally at least 2+ full size products.

*note: This post contains referral/affiliate links

Look Fantastic March 2018 Unboxing

Look Fantastic March 2018

I was really happy with February’s Box. LF doesn’t always have the best customer service but they curate a pretty good box.  The March Look Fantastic box contained not five but SIX products! As usual the box came with the Elle UK Magazine. I’m behind on my Elle reading, I have four magazines sitting on my coffee table waiting to be read.The theme this month is Beauty Empowered.

The products were packaged wrapped in tissue paper and cushioned with crinkly pink paper. Look Fantastic also included their little product recommendation magazine. Onto the products…

 

Omorovicza: Look Fantastic March 2018

Omorovicza Balancing Moisturizer 1oz $100CAD

Ideal for oily and combination skin types, this refreshing hydrator supports the skin’s natural oil balance to minimize shine. It dries quickly and provides perfectly calibrated hydration throughout the day. The complex also works to brighten dullness and blur the appearance of fine lines, wrinkles, and pores

I had an OMG moment when I realized that this moisturizer retails at Sephora Canada for $170CAD. Like, What!? The size that Look Fantastic set out is VERY generous, the full size bottle is 1.7oz and subscribers received an entire 1oz frosted glass bottle.

Because of how insanely expensive this moisturizer is I’m rather sad that it won’t work for my skin at all. I don’t know why Look Fantastic picked a moisturizer specifically for Oily to Combination skin, us dry skinned beauties won’t fare as well with Omorovicza. I can see how someone with oily skin would love this, it mattifies the hell out of my face! It also has a nice minty smell.

Skin Chemists Rose Quartz Lip Plump

Skin Chemists Rose Quartz Lip Plump $29CAD

With key ingredient Volulip, derived from the ‘Kiss Me Quick’ plant, this lip plump aims to stimulate the production of Hyaluronic Acid, producing an active plumping effect. Circulation of blood to the surface of the lip is further enhanced by Peppermint Oil producing a fuller pout.

The pricing for this gloss is so weird. On SkinChemists’ website it retails for £94 but it also retails on Amazon.com for $22.57USD.

At first I was excited to try this gloss. I don’t have the fullest pout so something that can enhance the look of my lips without fillers is worth a shot. Unfortunately I didn’t notice a plumping effect from this gloss AND it contains mineral oil which is something I generally steer clear of. I’ve stopped buying a lot of B&BW scrubs that contain mineral oil because it just feels greasy and just sits on top of my skin. I don’t ever hear good things about it and I’d rather not be putting it near my lips.

Renu Skin Flash Relax Mask 

Renu Skin Flash Relax Mask 1oz ~$19.33CAD

The only Canadian Website I could find this product on was Amazon and it’s ridiculously expensive at $100 CAD for 100ml. Ordering from the UK will lower the price to £34, (~$60.45CAD) for 100ml. I’m going off that price for my value. The bottle says Flash Relax is for mature skin but Look Fantastic also recommends it for dry skin. It’s weird that LF included a mask for dry skin and a moisturizer for oily skin.

According to Renu Skin this is a gel mask that claims to smooth fine lines and firm facial contours for an “instant face-lift effect”. It contains Ginseng and Magnesium to smooth, Sodium Hyaluronate to plump and Vitamin C to enhance natural radiance. I’m a little bit scared by the “instant face-lift effect” claim, I don’t particularly think that I need a facelift right now at 25! I will try it out though…

Skimono Total Conditioning+ Foot Mask

Skimono Total Conditioning+ Foot Mask ~$17.80CAD (£9.99)

I’ve never used a foot mask before! I’m looking forward to my next pamper session when I get to try this mask out. It claims to Moisturize deeply, smooth cracked heels, soften hard skin, and refresh & revive tired feet. It also claims to be antibacterial. Sheet mask type products are always a win in subscription boxes for me!

StyLondon & Doucce Freematic Eyeshadow Singles

StyLondon Oval Face Brush

Do you guys remember about a year ago when these toothbrush resembling makuep brushes were everywhere!? I remember seeing them all over instagram but not so much these days. This oval shaped brush is meant for contouring with liquid or powder products. Honestly the brush handle feels a little cheap to me but the brushes are very soft and tightly packed. I couldn’t even find this brush on StyLondon’s website so I’m guessing this brush is worth… $5?

Doucce Freematic Eyeshadow Duo $20

I recently gave away a Doucce Freematic eyeshadow palette in my 1k giveaway! I haven’t tried the formula myself (the palette was from the Fabfitfun Winter Box) so I’m looking forward to using these shades. I really need to order a magnetic Z palette to put all of my eyeshadow singles in. Eyeshadow singles retail for $10 each at Doucce. I received the shades 78 Kate18 Tenley. The formula feels creamy to the touch and has a satiny fiish.

Look Fantastic March 2018 Unboxing

Final Thoughts

I can’t complain about the box seeing as how I got it by accident/wasn’t even supposed to receive it but I still feel a little let down after how much I loved the February box. February’s box was so cohesive but the March box feels like a collection of random products.

The Omorovicza moisturizer has a wow factor for the price but it doesn’t work for my dry skin. It’s weird that they included it but also included a face mask for mature skin that conditions extra dry skin. I’ll try out the contouring toothbrush, but I feel like LF should have included an eyeshadow brush to use with the eyeshadow singles. On the bright side the value of the box worked out to $191CAD. Hmm…

What do you think about the March Look Fantastic box? Do these products belong together in the same box?

Thanks so much for reading everyone. I’ll bring you my first BoxyCharm box next week if shipping allows so make sure to check back for that soon as well as my ColourPop Give It To Me Straight Palette full review on Friday! Remember to like & subscribe <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 3.37.31 PM

 

 

Follow:
Share:

17 Comments

  1. March 15, 2018 / 12:43 pm

    If anything this box will solidify your decision to cancel! I wouldn’t say that is too bad of a thing. Man the value of the items you got though! That moisturizer is crazy! I wonder if you can try selling that or something lol.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 16, 2018 / 2:35 am

      Absolutely, I’m happy I cancelled now after this box! I know there are people who loved the march box but I’m just not one of them.
      That moisturizer is crazy expensive, I have no idea why! Skincare should never cost over $100, I don’t care what’s in it! I’ll probably just give it to a family member, or maybe use it specifically for my T zone in the hottest months of summer.. we’ll see!

  2. March 14, 2018 / 11:03 pm

    Awh sucks you weren’t feeling most of the products. I’ll have to see if the products I have that contain mineral oil feels the same on me, I honestly haven’t paid attention to that but probably should lol.
    And you’re gonna LOVE this months boxycharm!! I got mine today, ooooowwwwweeee, I’m so excited!!! Lol

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 14, 2018 / 11:35 pm

      I was pretty disappointed, I wish the products went together more 😔
      Did you see the spoiler for next months boxycharm? I won’t spoil it for you if you haven’t but I’m so excited!! I’m also excited for this month’s to arrive, I checked the tracking and it’s still on the opposite side of Canada. I’ll probably get it next week!

      • March 15, 2018 / 12:28 am

        omg it’s already out?? I JUST got my box wth they work fast LMAO I’m going to stalk their IG real quick brb haha

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          March 15, 2018 / 12:30 am

          I saw it on My Subscription Addiction, I’m not entirely sure if it was on their Instagram lol But yes it’s out already!

          • March 15, 2018 / 12:46 am

            I went there after not seeing it in their IG LOL
            I’m definitely excited for it, I honestly don’t even care which one I get haha

      • March 15, 2018 / 12:29 am

        nothing on IG so I went straight for MSA and OMFG!!! I’m SOOOOOOOOO EXCITED!!!!!!!!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          March 15, 2018 / 12:31 am

          RIGHT!?!? I only have one of those palettes so I hope I get one of the other four 😄

          • March 15, 2018 / 12:46 am

            I’ll have my fingers crossed for you!!

  3. Makeup by Erin
    March 14, 2018 / 6:59 pm

    This looks like such a lovely box! Too bad it wasn’t all good. It looks like these products are super high quality for the most part though!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 15, 2018 / 3:06 am

      One thing I can say for look fantastic is that the value is always there! I’m going to try to make that moisturizer work…somehow lol

      • Makeup by Erin
        March 15, 2018 / 11:59 am

        Haha I hope you get it to work!

  4. March 14, 2018 / 1:12 pm

    That’s crazy they included a full size of the Omorovicza Balancing Moisturizer! It’s just too bad it wasn’t the right type of product for your skin type. I feel like they should have included a comparable product but for people with dry skin!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 14, 2018 / 3:27 pm

      It wasn’t quite full size, but 1oz is still amazing! That’s a $100 value! 😨
      That’s what I was thinking too. Oh well, it will make a good gift for a family member!

  5. March 14, 2018 / 8:42 am

    Wow, you got such a steal for the box. I’m sorry to hear that you got products you weren’t really crazy about though. I like the idea of getting a magazine with the box. Great review as always Cleia xxx

    Melina | http://www.ivefoundwaldo.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      March 14, 2018 / 3:24 pm

      The magazine is a nice feature! I don’t read a lot of magazines but I always read Elle each month so I’ll for sure read the UK version 🙂
      I wish I didn’t have such dry skin, I have a feeling the moisturizer would be great otherwise! Thanks for reading xx

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: