Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set Review

After several months of using the Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set I wanted to share my full review of it. I’ve been using most of these brushes daily since I posted my Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set Haul. I use them in every YouTube video I upload and some of these brushes have become staples in my routine. On the other hand… some of them have not.

Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set

Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set Review

The Eye Slay Brush Set by Morphe retails for $24CAD and contains 6 synthetic and natural hair eyeshadow brushes to help you achieve your eyeshadow goals. The set unfortunately doesn’t say which brushes are synthetic and which ones aren’t, nor do any of these brushes exist for individual purchase at Morphe. The set also comes with a little rose gold bag for carrying the brushes.

Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set

The Eye Slay Brush Set Includes:

  • Bent Liner Brush: For applying cream of gel eyeliner.
  • Pencil Crease Brush: To smudge eyeshadow and precisely apply eyeshadow.
  • Flat Concealer Brush: For applying concealer.
  • Oval Shadow Brush: For packing on eyeshadow.
  • Crease Fluff Brush: Great for applying your first transition shade
  • Deluxe Blender Brush: A super soft fluffy blending brush.
  • Luxe Case

Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set

Aesthetic

These brushes are so instagramable! I love that they are Rose gold, that’s what initially drew me to them. I love that these brushes are full sized too, I don’t mind mini brushes but it’s nice to have a full brush set finally. There is also a Morphe Complexion Goals brush set which is the matching rose gold face brush set. I don’t have that one as I don’t need any more face brushes, but it is available for you.

I was pleasantly surprised with how much I liked the brush case. It’s long and fits my makeup brushes when I travel and when I’m not jet-setting I use it to hold my daily makeup staples like brow pencils, an eyelash curler, mascara and a blending sponge. The rose gold aesthetic is really pretty!

Bent Liner Brush

This eyeliner brush is actually really good. I love that this brush is bent, it makes it much easier to apply my Pretty Vulgar Gel liner. The brush is small but firmly packed which helps creating precise lines. I still haven’t mastered winged gel liner with this brush, but honestly I’m not good at winged liner regardless of the brush I use!

Pencil Crease Brush

This pencil crease brush is really scratchy. This is one of the natural hair brushes as far as I can tell and it’s really coarse. I don’t use it much because of that, I wouldn’t use it to smudge because it’s not very gentle on the eyes.

Flat Concealer Brush

I didn’t actually know that this was supposed to be a concealer brush until I checked the website a few days ago. I will probably keep using it to apply eyeshadow to my lower lash line. It probably won’t be getting used as a concealer brush anytime soon, except to maybe clean up my winged liner. The square shape isn’t my idea of a good cut crease brush, I prefer oval shaped brushes! Speaking of Oval shaped brushes…

Oval Shadow Brushes

I love this shadow brush! It’s big and densely packed so I always reach for it when I’m setting my eye primer or packing on a matte shade all over my lid. This brush is pretty good, I’m happy it’s in the set!

Crease Fluff Brush

This is the brush that I almost always use to apply my first transition shade. It’s a tiny bit scratchy so I would have liked something softer but it does a good job of evenly dispersing my transition shades into the crease. Unfortunately it’s bulky for my eye shape so I go in with a different brush once I’ve applied that first transition shade.

Deluxe Blender Brush

This is such a great brush! It’s suuuper soft unlike the natural hair brushes in this collection. It does a great job of diffusing the edges of my eyeshadow. If one brush in this set was available for purchase I would want it to be this one.

ColourPop Sol Palette Review | Colour Story

Is It Worth It?

I like the Morphe Eye Slay Brush Set but now that I’ve used the brushes for a while I don’t know that I needed all of them. It’s a great set if you have little to no makeup brushes of your own. I use the Crease Fluff Brush and the Deluxe Blender brush all the time so I’m happy to have them in my collection.

What I’m really loving though is my Morphe M506, which is a brush that I also got in my Morphe Haul. That brush is amazing for hooded eyes like mine, it’s soft and tapered so it gets right into your crease. I would recommend hand selecting the brushes you need from Morphe’s individual brush selection if you already have a large collection instead of choosing a set like the Eye Slay Brush set. That being said this set was only $24CAD (~$18USD) which as far as makeup brushes go is pretty affordable. If you want the instagramable aesthetic than go for it. These makeup brushes definitely enhance my flatlays!

Have you tried Morphe brushes?

Thank you for reading. Let me know what your favourite makeup brushes are. Did you pick up the Morphe Eye Slay brush set? Don’t forget to follow me on social media! Talk soon <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ YouTube ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Always Cleia

 

Follow:
Share:

29 Comments

  1. November 2, 2018 / 4:56 pm

    These brushes are SO gorgeous! 😍

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      November 3, 2018 / 8:16 pm

      Rose gold has my heart! I love how these brushes look!

  2. October 30, 2018 / 12:40 am

    Wow they’re so pretty! I’ve never tried anything from morphe but I hear their brushes are insanely good, I don’t think I’ll buy anything from this brand though because I hear a lot of mixed reviews and it seems the brand is constantly in controversy.
    They seem affordable though and it’s interesting to see a set like this that is a full size rather than the minis.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 31, 2018 / 12:54 pm

      I’ve heard that from a few people now. I liked this brush set but I don’t use every brush in it and I probably wouldn’t purchase a full set from them in the future. I’m curious to try Morphe’s palettes now that there’s a few at Sephora (and I can return them if they don’t work out)!

      • November 1, 2018 / 11:50 pm

        Morphe is in Sephora now?? Whaaaa?? I missed that haha. Good to know, I was very interested in their matte palettes but lots of people told me their matte formulas aren’t the best, so if you love shimmers, definitely go for those. I had my eye on one of their palettes that recently came out but I couldn’t make up my mind about so I decided not to get it

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          November 3, 2018 / 8:13 pm

          Yes!! Sephora Canada at least, though I don’t see why it wouldn’t be in the US. They don’t have a full line up of products but there are a few brushes and some palettes.
          There’s one palette that I’m planning on picking up when I go to get my birthday gift!

          • November 5, 2018 / 12:50 am

            I’ll definitely look at their site and see which palettes they have, though I think Ulta also carries most of their palettes LOL. The one palette I’ve had my eye on ever since it was released was the BossMood palette, the greens/olives really caught my eye and I’ve been really thinking about getting it but I’m so TORN between getting it and not getting it! I may buy it just to try it but because I keep hearing their mattes are not that good and the shades I like the most are MATTE, idk. *sigh* I’m going to think about it a little bit longer because I also want the Extra Spice palette LOL.
            Which palette were you thinking about picking up if you don’t mind me asking? I also don’t mind waiting to see a surprise if you do a haul post or video 🙂

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            November 7, 2018 / 4:19 am

            Oh yeah, I always forget about Ulta lol. They probably have a lot more than Sephora. YES that’s the one I want too! I couldn’t remember the name of it. Those greens look beautiful! There are too many palettes to choose from, It’s hard to pick 😄
            I’m still not sure I’ll shop the VIB sale, I might just put the palette on my birthday list!

          • November 8, 2018 / 12:21 am

            I know right? The greens are the reason I want that palette in the first place lmao.. I’ll have to convince Alex to let me get it because…I spent a lot of money last month lol

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            November 8, 2018 / 1:49 am

            lol! As far as palettes go it’s not to expensive at least, especially for that many shades. Or maybe you could ask for it for Christmas? What did you think of your Sephora birthday gift? I got the bite lipstick set, I really like the lip crayon!

          • November 9, 2018 / 12:01 am

            Exactly!! I think it’s a reasonable price for it, and I think I may do that because otherwise I won’t have any gifts on Christmas haha.
            And I got the bite lipstick set as well but I haven’t gone thorough my haul yet, everything has been sitting on my vanity in their boxes 🙈🙈 I need to film a collective haul and take pictures of everything lol

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            November 9, 2018 / 9:22 pm

            Good thinking! I went in store today and swatched that boss mood palette and the greens are soooo pretty! They’re really pigmented.
            You need to get on that lol! I’ve kind of given up on waiting to take pictures of things before I use them unless there is an amazing design in the product that I’ll wreck. I have no patience lol

          • November 10, 2018 / 3:19 pm

            Awh I’m exciteddd!! I know they’re just swatches but how did the mattes seem to you? Everyone keeps saying their mattes are a little patchy but ugh, I really really want that palette LOL
            Well since I decided to take a break I keep delaying things and I’m like “I’ll do it tomorrow” LOL. I’ve been so busy this weekend I honestly haven’t even had time for myself haha but I will* get to it either tonight or tomorrow 😀

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            November 12, 2018 / 2:24 am

            I was only able to swatch two of the mattes and they were decently pigmented as far as I could tell… It was so busy in the Sephora though I had to reach around someone to swatch the palette haha. It’s really hard to tell how they’ll perform on the eyes with just a quick hand swatch though :S
            haha it happens! You have a life outside of blogging too. Hopefully you’ll be able to find some time soon 🙂

          • November 12, 2018 / 11:46 pm

            True that, well I’m still trying to convince my husband to get it for me for Christmas. Well see if he agrees if not I’ll have to wait. If you get it before me let me know what you think of it.

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            November 15, 2018 / 12:46 am

            haha! I’m sure whatever he decides to get you will be great, eyeshadow palette or not. I’ve been strongly hinting to my family that I want the palette for my birthday. If I do get it I will let you know!

          • November 15, 2018 / 11:49 pm

            You’re bday is coming up!! So exciting!!

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            November 16, 2018 / 1:05 am

            Yes it is! And I have the whole week off for it, I’m so excited 🙂

          • November 17, 2018 / 10:50 am

            Lmao stupid autocorrect, your* but that’s so exciting!!! Have fun!!

  3. October 29, 2018 / 8:21 am

    The brushes are so pretty and this set is very affordable! I haven’t tried anything from Morphe yet, I always hear mixed reviews about them so I’m not sure if I want to buy their products. Great review!

    http://new-lune.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 31, 2018 / 12:41 pm

      The reviews are all over the place! I haven’t tried their makeup products yet but I might now that Sephora stocks them. Thanks for reading!

  4. October 27, 2018 / 11:44 am

    They definitely look pretty (to be honest, anything that’s rose gold is pretty) but feel that they would have nothing on the BH Cosmetics set that I bought in the summer from TK Maxx.

    I’ve never tried Morphe brushes before and whilst I’ve heard how inexpensive they are and how great they can be, I have too many brushes at the moment to accommodate for more so I think I’ll pass. But thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 31, 2018 / 12:35 pm

      Rose gold is beautiful! I haven’t tried BH Cosmetics brushes but I’ve heard god things about them.

      I completely understand that, I can relate to having way too many brushes! Thank you for reading 🙂

  5. Surreal Serene
    October 27, 2018 / 10:06 am

    What a bunch of pretty brushes, It’s true when you buy a set there are usually some brushes that you will not use that often haha!

    Serene XO

    http://www.surrealserene.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 31, 2018 / 12:33 pm

      I didn’t expect to love everything, I probably would have if ha;f the brushes weren’t so scratchy. Thanks for reading!

  6. October 25, 2018 / 6:03 pm

    I have the same set and have a love/hate affair with the fluffy crease brush too! It little blends beautifully, but like 756 washes later and it’s still as scratchy as the first day. Beauty is definitely pain!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 25, 2018 / 11:24 pm

      So it’s not just me! Some of the brushes are so soft but others are super scratchy 🙁

  7. October 25, 2018 / 3:35 am

    These sure are pretty brushes! The case is cute too!

  8. beautybyraji
    October 25, 2018 / 3:33 am

    I haven’t tried morphe brushes but I love the zoeva set. I actually received it as a present. I agree that some brushes from the set have become staples but there are others I simply don’t reach for. On the whole though I find sets good value for money and will def try a morohe one 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: