MUR X Emily The Wants Palette | Review + 3 Looks

Emily Noel The Wants Palette ReviewThe Revolution X Emily The Wants Palette is possibly one of the most beautiful I have ever laid my eyes on. It’s not even completely for the physical palette themselves, this collection speaks to me on an emotional level. If you haven’t heard of Emily Noel I highly suggest you check out the video she created for this launch. She is just the most genuine, heartfelt YouTuber out there and I’m so happy to support her collaboration endeavours.

The Wants Palette Review

Emily created two palettes with Makeup Revolution. The first one was called The Needs and it features everything you need for a full look while on the go. It’s a more simple palette featuring a blush, bronzer, highlighter, setting powder and nine eyeshadows. As a bit of a makeup hoarder I didn’t think I needed an everyday palette. Enter The Wants palette, a beautiful creation featuring 24 x 0. shades ranging from purple to pink to green to spice up your everyday look for the low cost of $20USD.

Mold In The Revolution X Emily Wants Palette?

I don’t know if anyone else noticed this but The Wants palette disappeared from both Ulta AND Revolution Beauty. It’s only been out for a month minimum so I find this super strange! I found a reddit thread where customers have found mold in the palette on the shade Love Tons. A quick google search of “Emily The Wants Palette Mold” has dug up multiple reviews where people have found mold on the same shade, it’s so gross. This seems to be traced back to certain batches ordered from Ulta. Luckily I ordered directly from Revolution Beauty and I didn’t find any mold on my Wants Palette. I sprayed my palette with alcohol to be cautious. I think this palette disappearance might be a quiet recall, so if you did order the Makeup Revolution Emily Noel The Wants Palette check it carefully…

Revolution Emily The Wants Palette

Aesthetic

The Wants Palette is giant! Emily Noel really went big with this collaboration. I like the aesthetic of it, the mirror is giant and amazing and the rose gold signature on the front is lovely to behold. The packaging is plastic which makes The Wants Palette feel a little cheap, but can I really hold that against MUR when the palette only retails for $20? I think not. The overall aesthetic of this palette is beautiful.

Color Story

The shades in this palette are gorgeous. I love that there is a white matte shade Cream that I can use to set my eye primer. In smaller palettes I don’t see this as a necessity but when I use a larger palette I don’t want to have to reach for other palettes/ singles. There are a decent amount of matte shades that can serve as transition colours like Hobby, Midwest & Prayer. I like the variety of unique shades that we don’t see very often in other palettes, like the green shades Side Hustle & Grateful, and the purples Eve Rose & Family.

Honestly I’m not sure that the palette needed to be this large, I think the size of the Soph palettes would have been just fine. I can’t see myself using the shades Cupcake or Oh Heavens very often and I probably wouldn’t have missed Eve Rose. I might have pulled the trigger on this palette a little bit too soon because after the initial hype wore off I started realizing that I was only excited for the right half of the palette. The left half I can easily dupe across palettes I already own.

I love the thought that Emily put into the name of each shade, in her reveal video she talks about her emotional connection to each shade and it’s heartwarming and sincere.

wp-1538093631747..jpg

The Wants Palette
Pigmentation Blend & Fallout

This is my first time trying MUR shadows. The matte shades in the Revolution X Emily The Wants Palette blend really well and have decent pigmentation. It’s not on the level of ABH of course but you get what you pay for. I was surprised that the shimmer shades are very shimmery. Most of the shimmers don’t have the foiled metallic look I get with ColourPop shades. It’s fine, don’t get me wrong… I just tend to reach for metallic type eyeshadows more than sparkly shimmers.

Unfortunately some of the shimmers in The Wants Palette don’t apply well for me dry. I think that’s pretty common with eyeshadow but I was expecting more pigmentation from cupcake, Oh Heavens and Eve Rose. Many of the lighter shimmers need to be applied wet or over concealer. The darker shimmers are a applied well for me with a dry brush. Heartbeat is especially beautiful.

I noticed a lot of fallout with the shade Side Hustle, in my live swatching video I got flecks of glitter all over my face when I applied it. Other than that most shades in The Wants Palette have minimal fallout. I still recommend doing your eyes first just in case.

Swatches

Because there are sooo many shades to swatch I am linking the eye swatch video that I uploaded to youtube earlier this week. I look a little crazy, I was sick unfortunately and couldn’t be bothered to wear base makeup or anything like that. You can still see every shade in action in this video!

 

The Wants Palette Makeup Looks

Though I adore the warm mate shades in this palette I noticed that most influencers are posting red & pink looks with their Revolution X Emily Palettes. I like changing things up so I went for the less obvious choices. In my first look with The Makeup Revolution X Emily The Wants Palette I went for a natural everyday look that you can easily do in five minutes.

Look #1: Girl Next Door

For each of these looks I set my primer with The Cream. Here I used Midwest and Dues Paid as transition shades, and popped Laugh Cry all over the outer corner and inner 1/2 of my eyelids. I deepened the outer corner with Apartment and placed Oh Heavens over the inner 1/2 of my eyelids.

Look #2: Cool as a Cucumber

For my second makeup look with The Wants Palette I wanted to utilize the green shades Grateful & Side Hustle. I think they make a really nice look together and Grateful is one of the more unique shades in the palette. I really like green on my eyes, I don’t wear it nearly enough. In my crease is Hobby and Apartment followed by Dark & Early and Corduroy on the outer corners. I cut the crease with concealer and covered it with Grateful and Side Hustle at the outer edges.

Look #3: Pizzazzzz

For my third The Wants Palette makeup look I wanted to do a halo eye. I used the shade Pi Phi heavily for this look combined with Pizzaz and Eve Rose. I was surprised that Pi Phi was a lot easier to work with this time around than when I did my eye swatch video. Strange… I also used Eve Rose, which if you watched that video you’ll know that I wasn’t a fan of that shade applied dry. On top of concealer it applied 100% nicer than it did dry in the video. With the contrast of the darker shades on either side it showed up better than I expected.

wp-1538093699122..jpg

Overall

In all honesty after playing with this palette I don’t think that I needed it in my collection. I wanted to support Emily by buying her palette so I don’t regret my decision to buy it. My main issues with it are the color story, I would rather pay the same for a smaller palette that is curated to my tastes than have a larger one with quite a few shades that I won’t use. That’s completely individual to my shade preferences and doesn’t mean that it’s a bad palette or that you won’t like it. Considering the size of the mirror included with the palette the price is well worth it.

Out of the two palettes I got from Makeup Revolution I prefer the Soph Extra Spice Palette, the colour story has more fun pops of colours and is a little less “everyday” than The Wants Palette. After playing with The Wants Palette a lot I’ve come to reach for it as “day look” type palette, even with all the greens and purples.

One shining point for Emily’s palette is that all of my eye looks wore all day with no visible fading. My cut crease was perfect after a 12 hour stressful work day, my everyday makeup look was still perfect, the halo eye was still perfect. MUR has wear time covered!

What do you think of the Makeup Revolution X Emily The Wants Palette?
Did you pick it up?

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed this review! It was long but I go for detail over quick and snappy when I write reviews. Let me know if you picked up this palette and if you liked it! xx

Always Cleia

Follow:
Share:

29 Comments

  1. October 22, 2018 / 1:54 pm

    Thanks for always posting all these detailed palette reviews, swatches, and looks. I don’t use makeup nearly often enough to justify keeping up with all the palettes I find interesting, and I love enjoying them vicariously through your blog. :]

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 22, 2018 / 2:05 pm

      Thank you so much for letting me know! I’m trying to be better about not buying every single palette that comes out these days haha.
      I’m glad you enjoy my reviews!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 20, 2018 / 4:24 pm

      Thanks! Yes I wish some the shades were a little different when swatched… it’s still a nice palette for the price. Thanks for reading xx

  2. October 15, 2018 / 11:09 pm

    Oh man in the past few days I had heard so much about this palette that even Tati has some drama in it, but that woman seems to be kind of controversial and i don’t really watch her videos anyway… the way Tati handled the drama with that girl Kiki was even more….ugh… .anyway, I did hear about the mold and that was really concerning to me, like did they not do quality checks or….? Nonetheless I do find the shades to be pretty but I personally wasn’t wowed by the color story. And as you mentioned, there’s dupes in other palettes too. I’m so happy that she finally got a collaboration but so sad that she got dragged into drama..

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 16, 2018 / 12:44 am

      SO MUCH DRAMA! I normally try to ignore it but that video by Kiki popped up in my feed and I watched it… I feel like Tati should have just let her video go, kiki has like 100k subs and Tati has 4 million.
      All of the batch was recalled I heard and new ones were made, but it’s very surprising that moldy palettes made their way onto the shelves :S
      That’s my issue, this is a very pretty palette and I would recommend it to someone who doesn’t have a lot of eyeshadow to choose from but for makeup collectors it’s not super unique. I’m still happy that Emily got a collab!

      • October 16, 2018 / 2:12 pm

        I only saw Tati’s video but it was enough for me to be like “THIS is why I don’t watch many beauty videos anymore” because I feel like people try to bring other people down, like just focus on yourself and what you like lol. But yeah I totally agree, Tati did NOT need to do that and she also could have left her name out…
        Yeah that’s really weird, I hope next time they make sure that everything is top notch quality before releasing it. And hopefully the people who got palettes from the batch are able to return theirs or something.

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          October 17, 2018 / 12:45 pm

          Haha I get that, I know a lot of people who watch those gossip drama channels but I’m not sure I need that in my life 😄
          It would be nice if people could just respect each other.
          Wait they couldn’t return their moldy palettes!?

          • October 18, 2018 / 12:39 am

            No, I watched a few and it left me feeling weird like…I can’t even explain it, I don’t want to be part of it though lol .
            Lol no sorry, I’m saying I hope they were able to return them. I mean I guess if they got recalled then yeah? Haha idk I have no idea 😂

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            October 18, 2018 / 12:51 am

            No I get it, I have enough drama in my life without exposing myself to the drama of people I don’t even know!
            Oooohh that makes more sense, I hope so too!

  3. October 15, 2018 / 5:42 am

    As you said, that’s one of the reasons why I didn’t buy this palette because if I have to be honest, the shades are beautiful but they don’t appeal to me, it’s not a palette I need to have in my collection either. I love the looks you created, they are always so beautiful! My favourite one has to be the second look. Great review x

    http://new-lune.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 15, 2018 / 12:30 pm

      Thank you, the second one is my favourite too 🙂 I wish I had held off just a bit, it’s not a bad palette at all but I have so many other palettes to reach for lol. Thanks for reading! x

  4. October 14, 2018 / 8:33 pm

    That’s too bad that you don’t feel like you needed this palette, but I suppose we don’t need any lol. I like the shades in this palette a lot, and I agree that the performance is great, for the price. The metallics could definitely be improved.

    I am so so sad that Emily has gotten dragged into so much drama. I watched Tati’s video out of curiosity after all this went down, since I don’t watch her anymore, and she did the strangest eye look ever. Like what? I found her review weird because when she was using the Needs palette, she basically just said she didn’t like it, but didn’t explain why. She was very quiet when applying the powders, with the exception of saying that the blush was patchy. With the rest she was just like, nope I don’t like it. Ok….. I also couldn’t believe when she said she wished Emily had collabed with Colourpop instead. That is so incredibly rude…

    I find it extremely hard to believe that all her haters came from Emily subscribers. Tati has many haters of her own, and I heard that mostly people were hating on her because of her bizarre eyeshadow application. When she put on that first transition shade, she was so sloppy and it looked freaking crazy. I was cringing the whole time.

    Now that Tati has released her video addressing Kiki, I’m very disappointed that she chose to fight fire with fire and not only beat down Kiki, but really drag Emily’s palette through the mud. I wish Emily had just been left out of all of this. I guess Emily shouldn’t have commented on Kiki’s video for PR reasons, but to be honest I agreed with most of the things Kiki said in her video. People are calling that video hateful, and I guess it sort of is, but it was an opinion piece and I had felt a lot of the same things when watching Tati’s video. But maybe they shouldn’t have been voiced. It’s hard to live your life with so many filters though! Oh well, no one escapes drama apparently.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 15, 2018 / 12:48 pm

      I will absolutely still get some use out of it, but I didn’t have nearly as much excitement about it as I did for the extra spice palette. It must just be the season, I just want fall tones on my eyes right now!

      I don’t understand what was up with Tati’s video at all, that look was strange AF. It was such a weird application, I would never have put good vibes in the inner corner of my eye with the look she was doing. She’s really the only person I saw who just wrote off the needs palette with no explanation. Not everyone will like the same things but at least give an explanation. Normally she has a disclaimer that just because she doesn’t like something that doesn’t mean it’s bad but I can’t remember if she said that in the video.

      I watched kiki’s first video and I agreed with everything she said. I thought it was really low of Tati to then go and make a rude video slamming kiki, especially with Tati’s pedestal of 4 million subscribers where kiki is sitting at just over 100k.
      I didn’t really find the first video hateful but the retaliation “apology” video kiki made after was absolutely hateful towards Tati and I felt that was unnecessary.

      I watched Emily’s palette bingo video recently and even though she let a comment on Kiki’s video I thought that she still addressed the situation with a lot of grace. I have mad respect for how she’s handling this!

  5. October 13, 2018 / 9:22 pm

    As always I love the looks you came up with! This palette really is beautiful!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 15, 2018 / 12:54 pm

      Thank you! It is, I wish it had more Fall tones but I think I will love it in the winter 🙂

  6. October 12, 2018 / 6:45 pm

    I like how you applied each shade on it’s own to give a fair representation of how the colours look! (I hope your eyes weren’t too sore after this). Palette tutorials are fun but I often see people using the same shades as each other and creating similar looks, there’s no variation of the shades used. I love the 2nd and 3rd looks you created!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 13, 2018 / 2:04 am

      My eyes recovered! I did a sheet mask and moisturized really well after filming the video 😂
      It’s true, there’s always the more prominent shades that everyone gravitates towards. Thanks Chanelle!

      • October 13, 2018 / 2:32 am

        You are such a trooper for filming and soldiering on when you were sick! Hope you’re better now 😀

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          October 15, 2018 / 12:59 pm

          Thanks Chanelle! I’m doing much better now!

  7. October 12, 2018 / 4:21 pm

    This palette has stirred up so much controversy on YouTube, oh my gosh! Since she always stays out of drama, I’m sure Emily did not intend for there to be such an uproar over it…

    Anyways, I love all of the colours she chose for this palette, it’s got a really nice colour range, and I also love all the “good vibe” names that mean something important to her. As much as the colours appeal to me, I don’t think I’ll be picking the palette up as I’ve realized over my years of makeup hoarding that I don’t get much use out of massive palettes like this – I always end up gravitating back to the 9/12-pan palettes like Too Faced, Tarte, or UD. It might be a good palette for a beginner though, since it has so many colours to choose from!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 12, 2018 / 4:31 pm

      I watched her recent palette bingo with this palette and she took a moment to address some of the YouTube controversy (without naming any names) and she handled it with so much class and grace! I have mad respect for her after everything.

      I’m wondering how much I will be using it once that initial “I have a new palette” phase wears off. I think I will enjoy these shades more in the winter than in the fall when all I want is orange tones!

      Thank you for reading!

      • October 13, 2018 / 11:09 am

        That’s good that she was able to handle it so professionally! Although I guess we expect nothing less from Emily 🙂

        That’s true, I feel like this would be a really pretty winter and spring palette!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          October 15, 2018 / 12:57 pm

          It’s true, she’s not the kind of person who would make a big fuss about it or get swept into the drama!

  8. October 12, 2018 / 12:32 pm

    I’m obsessed with the colours in that palette!! Great review and i love the second look you did in particular x

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 12, 2018 / 2:29 pm

      Thank you, that was my favourite of the three too. Lots of pretty shades in here!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      October 12, 2018 / 2:28 pm

      Yes they are! Thanks for reading x

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: