Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette Review — “I Paid $30 for this!?”

Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette Review

Today I have an eyeshadow palette review for you that is shockingly NOT ColourPop! I know, what the heck right!? I feel like I’ve been reviewing so much ColourPop lately that it’s time for something different. Last week I went into Sephora and picked up the new Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette. I have been eyeing it since it was first teased on TrendMood, purple is one of my favourite shades and I don’t wear it nearly enough. The ND Mini Lila palette is certainly mini, I found it in the aisle near the cash register which we all know is the worst value section in Sephora. I still purchased it because I’ve been curious about Natasha Denona eyeshadows for a quite some time and I would never spend over $100 on a full sized palettes regardless of the quality.

Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette
Review

The Natasha Denona Mini Lila Eyeshadow Palette retails for $30CAD contains 5 x 0.8g eyeshadows for a total of 4g of product. This works out to $7.50CAD per gram. Holy crap that’s expensive. Those Sol & Mar Palettes I’ve been talking about lately? Yeah that’s $1.33US per gram, even after converting to Canadian they aren’t this expensive. The Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette is talc free, paraben free and cruelty free.

Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette Review | Packaging

Packaging

Even though this is an itty bitty palette it still manages to feel luxe. A mirror would have been useless to me in a palette this small so I’m glad they didn’t try to fit one in. The flip up clear lid seems like good quality to me, not like something you’d find at the drugstore. And it better be good quality with how much money I sunk into this thing! My only complaint is that the shade names are printed on the back instead of the front of the palette.

Natasha Denona Mini Lila Swatches

Finger Swatches: Flint, Raisin, Blue Dahlia, Poison Berry

Colour Story

The Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette was created as an extension of her existing Lila Palette. The one that I definitely can’t afford! These shades are all new so you won’t find them in the original palette. The colour story is very plummy as you can see, the purples actually look the same on the eye as they do in the pan which is very rare for purple shades. In other eyeshadow palettes I own the purples pull more pink &red than actual purple.

I like that the Mini Lila Palette has a transition shade as well as an inner corner highlight. The duochrome Blue Dahlia is really pretty too!

Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette

Pigmentation, Blend & Fallout

When I posted my first impressions of the Mini Lila Palette for the first time on my instastories I commented that these shades are not as pigmented as I thought they should be. My last high end purchase was the Anastasia Beverly Hills Soft Glam Palette and those shades are BAM, incredible pigmentation. I swatched these shades on my hand and was wondering wtf was going on, because the eyeshadows aren’t nearly as pigmented as I expected they would be.

That being said Natasha Denona’s formula blends and builds so well that it makes up for it. I can build each of these shades up to a full wash of colour and they blend into each other well. I did need to apply the shade Linen wet to get the most out of it but Blue Dahlia applied well dry.

The matte shades didn’t really give me any fallout under my eyes but the Blue Dahlia shimmer did. Not a crazy amount but I did need  to use a makeup wipe afterwards.

Makeup Look:

Because the Mini Lila Palette is so small I only created one makeup look for my blog this time around. I’ve been posting a lot of 3 look tutorials but with I didn’t think I could create that many different looks with these shades while still being independently interesting and unique. As usual you can find the full tutorial for this look up on my YouTube Channel. Please subscribe! <3

Natasha Denona Mini Lila Makeup Look

With A Nude Lip

Natasha Denona Mini Lila Makeup Look

With A Berry Lip

Final Thoughts

I like this palette but I’m not entirely convinced that it was worth $30.  That’s so expensive for only 4g of eyeshadow! The shades are pretty and the formula is growing on me though, I got quite a few compliments on my makeup the day I did this eyeshadow look so I’m thinking that I’ll be keeping this palette. I can see myself wearing this look again when I go out!

Are you picking up the Natasha Denona Mini Lila Palette?

As always THANK YOU for reading! This little blogging community is one of my favourite things in the whole world, I love interacting with you all. Please like this post and leave me a comment below if you enjoyed this Mini Lila Palette Review. Please subscribe if you haven’t already <3

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ YouTube ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Always Cleia

 

 

 

Follow:
Share:

25 Comments

  1. August 19, 2018 / 7:19 pm

    Your pictures make me want to buy stuff. You do such a great job with them!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 22, 2018 / 7:37 pm

      Haha thank you! I’ve been using my Canon T6i a lot lately 🙂

  2. August 11, 2018 / 8:53 am

    What a gorgeous little palette. Holy moly that’s expensive but it’s good to know that they can be built up. They should be able to do that considering the price lol.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 11, 2018 / 3:58 pm

      The shades better build for the price per gram! I probably won’t be buying any more ND palettes now that I’ve sated my curiosity but I am enjoying the palette. Thanks for reading! xx

  3. August 11, 2018 / 8:49 am

    Such a small palette and so expensive but it’s equally a beautiful makeup look! I’ve subbed you on Youtube girlie, hope you’ll sub back <3!!!

    Serene XO

    http://www.surrealserene.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 11, 2018 / 3:57 pm

      Thanks love!

  4. Makeup by Erin
    August 10, 2018 / 8:38 pm

    I’m obsessed with the look you created, it makes me want to buy this little itty bitty palette. Ugh, I wish I just had $100 to just get the full Lila palette because I think it would be much better quality than this little thing.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 11, 2018 / 8:34 am

      Lol it probably would be, but then you’d have to spend $100 on one palette! I like this palette but $30 is a bit much for something so small 😅

  5. August 10, 2018 / 3:52 pm

    You know.. I still haven’t dipped into this palette yet. What is wrong with me?! Too many new purchases I guess! I’ve been playing with the VV Flamingo palette mostly, but maybe I’ll try the ND one this weekend! I’m sorry to hear that this isn’t a total hit, but the look that you created is stunning!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 11, 2018 / 9:51 am

      Girl you need to get on that! It’s hard though, I have so many new palettes and I want to play with them all at once 😂
      Do you love the flamingo palette so far?? I haven’t heard much about it yet!
      The formula wasn’t magical for me but I do like this palette a lot now! It grew on me, the colours are really pretty

      • August 11, 2018 / 10:11 am

        Ok that’s good! So far Flamingo is really nice and I’ve gotten some pretty looks out of it!

  6. August 9, 2018 / 3:23 pm

    I have absolutely NO interest in Natasha Denona palettes. So overpriced for what it is…
    You created a very pretty look with it though!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 11, 2018 / 10:39 am

      I agree, even though I did splurge on this mini palette. This one is more “affordable” but even so I don’t think it was entirely worth it.
      Thanks Stashy!

  7. August 9, 2018 / 1:38 am

    Woah I did not know that this palette is $30! That’s crazy! 😱 The look you created is so beautiful that it almost seems worth it!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 11, 2018 / 5:26 pm

      Isn’t that insane? That’s way too much for a palette but I was sucked in xD
      I love the way the look turned out though, I will need to recreate it lots so I feel like the palette paid for itself

  8. August 8, 2018 / 10:43 pm

    The colours are pretty and you are right when you say blues and purple can swatch differently to how they look in the pan, glad these ones look the same! I can see this palette being good for a theme if you need these sort of shades or if you like bold colours, you might reach for this if you’re travelling too and want a pop of colour. Love the finished look <3

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 11, 2018 / 5:28 pm

      I have almost no purples that look the same on the eyes as in the pan so that’s a big bonus for me. I will definitely create this look again! Thanks for reading xx

  9. August 8, 2018 / 9:14 pm

    This is sooo pretty, I love all of the jewel tones in this! I really like the look you did with this – even though it’s got a few crazier shades in it, you did a fairly wearable look!
    Natasha Denona is definitely one of those premium brands where you’re paying a ridiculous amount of money for a mini palette. It’s a good way to try the brand without spending $150+ on the full palette, though!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 8, 2018 / 10:29 pm

      These shades are soo pretty! Not enough to make me want the full lila palette but it’s a good introduction to the brand 🙂
      I love that I can create looks that I can still wear to work with it. Thanks for reading!

  10. August 8, 2018 / 2:27 pm

    I tend to stay away from blues and purples, so I can’t see myself buying this palette. However, the look you created is stunning! I love how you’ve blended the colours together. I agree with you about the mirror. I hate when small palettes have one in. The mirror just gets messy and it feels pointless.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 8, 2018 / 7:56 pm

      Thanks Laura, I rarely wear blue on my eyes but I love purples!
      Glad it’s not just me, little palettes don’t need mirrors!

  11. August 8, 2018 / 2:14 pm

    Ahh that’s so much money for such a little palette! I don’t think I could bring myself to buy it as pretty as Natasha Denona palettes are. The look you did with it was stunning though, especially with the berry lip. 😍

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 8, 2018 / 7:57 pm

      I knooow, I was torn whether or not I wanted it but I don’t splurge on new releases very often so I treated myself 🙂
      But yeah $30 is a little much, I like it though. Thank you, I liked the look best with the berry lip colour too!

  12. August 8, 2018 / 12:17 pm

    You know what’s funny? When I saw the picture of this palette on your instagram, I have to say I wasn’t a fan, but as you continued talking about the shades, and I saw the eye look, I can say that I fell in love! I don’t know if I would have spent so much money on 5 shades, but it’s really pretty! As always, great post xx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      August 8, 2018 / 8:04 pm

      lol I can see why this palette wouldn’t appeal to people at first, I was unsure about it when I first took it out of the packaging too. I even debated returning it after swatching it on my hands but once I played with it I really enjoyed the shades.
      It’s crazy that this $30 palette is actually “cheap” for Natasha Denona and I think the value is probably worse than her full palettes. But I’m not going to spend $100+ on one beauty product!
      Thanks for reading Melina! xx

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: