Pixi Rose Cream Cleanser Review

Hello everyone! I’ve been on a beauty no-buy since January first, which means I’m in full shop my stash mode. My no-buy was made much easier when I received a very generous PR package from Pixi by Petra last month containing their entire Rose Infused Skintreats line. I went from expecting to have next to nothing to talk about on my blog to having eight products to share with you!

I asked you guys in my PR Haul blog post if you were interested in reading my reviews of Pixi’s Rose Skintreats line. Overall the response was “Yes!” so I wanted to get the ball rolling with one of my favourite products in the Rose Skintreats line: the Rose Cream Cleanser. It’s obvious that I love this cleanser because I featured it and the Rose Ceramide Cream in my January Favourites. Let me tell you why…

Pixi Beauty Rose Cream Cleanser Review

Pixi Rose Cream Cleanser Review

The Pixi Rose Cream Cleanser retails for $18USD and contains 135ml ($4.57oz) of product. It contains aloe vera and camomile to soothe, rose & avocado to condition and rich mineral mud to nourish & cleanse the skin. It’s also considered safe for sensitive skin.

Pixi by Petra is considered a drugstore beauty brand and can be found in Canada at Shoppers Drug Mart. It’s strange to me that Pixi is considered “drugstore” instead of mid-range. I was talking with Nova about this and we concluded that Pixi would probably be better suited to Sephora given the price point. $18 for a cleanser sounds expensive at the drugstore but if it were on a shelf at Sephora $18 would be a bargain!

Pixi by Petra Rose Cream Cleanser

Packaging

The Pixi Rose Cream Cleanser comes in a large squeeze bottle/tube. It’s a good size for a cleanser, I feel like it’s going to last me a while. My previous holy grail moisturizer was the Fresh Soy Cleanser but I couldn’t justify buying it full sized because it was so expensive. It’s almost strange to me having a full sized cleanser on my shelf now.

I love that Pixi always has their “pixi green” colour (as I call it) somewhere on their packaging!

Pixi Beauty Rose Skintreats | January Favourites

Performance

Now onto what you guys really care about: How the product worked! For those of you who don’t know me, hello. I’m Cleia and I have the driest skin on earth. That may be an exaggeration but with how cold this winter has been I’m starting to believe it. In this weather my skin felt tight & dry after cleansing with the Fresh Soy Cleanser even though it’s supposed to be gentle on the skin. I started finding dry texture on my cheeks and around my nose after using it. The CeraVe Hydrating cleanser even empasized my dryness.

I was worried that the rose clay in the Pixi Rose Cream Cleanser would make my skin extra dry. I see clay in a lot of deep cleaning face products so it was my only basis for comparison. It turned out that my apprehension was unnecessary.

This is a cream cleanser so it doesn’t foam up or lather at all. I think that all of the soothing ingredients packed into this cleanser really do nourish your skin. I’ve been using it for weeks now and I never feel or see dry patches on my face after cleansing! Yay!

It’s not perfect. It doesn’t always do a great job of removing my eye makeup. I look like a raccoon if I don’t use a makeup remover! I’ve also been making sure to swab my face with toner & a cotton ball afterwards to remove anything that the rose cream cleanser may have missed. The rose tonic from the same line has been doing a good job of this.

Pixi by Petra Rose Cream Cleanser Texture

Have you tried Pixi’s Rose Skintreats Line?

Overall the Rose Cream Cleanser has been a Godsend for my dry skin. Despite our current dry climate my face is no longer scaly or riddled with dry patches. I’m amazed that my skin looks so good after several weeks of the polar vortex!

If you have dry skin I do recommend this cleanser. I will likely switch back to the Fresh Soy Cleanser in the Summer when my skin is a little oiler but for the next few months I’ll be using Pixi’s cleanser exclusively.

I hope you guys enjoyed this review! If you like reading about skincare please check out my latest Fourth Ray Beauty Face Milk Review, I’ve really enjoyed trying them out as well this year. Next week I’ll be reviewing the Rose Ceramide Cream from Pixi. Talk soon! x

Follow:
Share:

23 Comments

  1. February 26, 2019 / 6:28 pm

    wow this cleanser sounds amazing! I have super dry and sensitive skin too, so I’m so relieved to hear that it’s worked so well for you! I’ve been using my fourth ray beauty cleanser and their cleansing oil (i might be making it up, but it came in the set with the cleanser). I love it! It’s really gentle on my skin, and leaves my skin super soft and smooth. The cleanser doesn’t really remove my makeup by itself, but if i use the oil beforehand, it does!
    I might look into this one, but I’m loving the fourth ray beauty one so much that I might not stop using it! Great post, as a fan of rose, I’m so glad you loved it! xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 27, 2019 / 1:13 am

      I’m so glad to hear that you’re loving the fourth ray cleanser & cleansing oil! I was actually thinking about trying both of those but I was worried that they would strip my skin too much in winter so I ordered different products instead. It’s good to know that they’re working out for you. I’ll need to try them out in the future!

  2. Lauren Will
    February 26, 2019 / 1:13 pm

    I am obsessed with this cleanser! I have also been loving the rose tonic, so good for dry winter skin! Even though I have oily/acne prone skin I find that both of these have been really good and haven’t made me break out at all. Love!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 27, 2019 / 1:12 am

      I haven’t broken out either! I actually broke out when I switched to a different moisturizer than the Pixi Rose Ceramide cream, and now that I’ve gone back my skin is happy again. I wish I had tried this line sooner!

  3. February 23, 2019 / 8:57 pm

    I have dry skin too so I share your struggle with my skin feeling tight and dry after using some cleansers. This one sounds really nice – is it really rose scented though? Iโ€™m not the biggest fan of rose-scented anything but if itโ€™s not heavily scented Iโ€™m usually okay with it.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 27, 2019 / 1:03 am

      I’m not really a big rose fan either but I don’t notice the rose smell on this cleanser as much as the other products in the line. The Rose Tonic has a VERY rosy smell so in comparison the cream cleanser is much more subtle.
      If you’re unsure about it I would see if there’s a tester in store, then maybe you could see if it’s overpowering for you before buying.
      Thanks for reading!

  4. February 20, 2019 / 3:36 pm

    Ah! I have really dry skin, too! Have you ever tried the First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser?? It’s so gentle & never leaves makeup behind. It works nice in both summer & winter, too! My skin never feels tight or painful afterwards unless I haven’t worn moisturizer in days.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 28, 2019 / 12:46 pm

      I don’t think I’ve tried that one, I know I tried one of their moisturizers once! I’ll keep an eye out for it. Thanks for the recommendation, it sounds lovely! x

  5. February 20, 2019 / 8:50 am

    This one sounds great. I haven’t purchase anything from this brand BECAUSE it’s a little bit pricier than anything else in the drugstore, so in that sense I agree that it’s more mid range.
    Anyway, this one sounds amazing and I love all the ingredients it has. I dont have terribly dry skin, just dry patches during the winter. Might be a nice product to have handy. I’m currently using a cream cleanser too and I LOVE it!! Cant believe I’ve never tried cream cleansers before, game changers for winter skincare lol.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 23, 2019 / 9:20 pm

      I was always daunted by the price tags too. I’m glad that they sent me this set because I never would have picked it up on it’s own but now that I’ve tried it I know I’ll repurchase.

      What cream cleanser are you using right now? They’re so great for winter!

      • February 24, 2019 / 5:43 pm

        I’m using the Pacifica coconut milk cream to foam face wash. It doesn’t really foam up though but I still like it. I picked up a small 1.4 fl oz bottle (with another Pacifica face wash) because they were pretty inexpensive at ulta.

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          February 27, 2019 / 1:05 am

          I wish pacifica was sold in stores here! I know I can get them at well.ca, I’ll have to try them sometime.

          • February 28, 2019 / 11:02 am

            I had used a CC cream and really liked it but the shade range sucks, they only have two lol. But their skincare seems great! For a first impressions I was amazed.

          • AlwaysCleia
            Author
            March 1, 2019 / 6:29 pm

            Hmm I’ll stay away from the shade range but watch out for their skincare!

  6. February 18, 2019 / 4:11 am

    Ohh this cleanser sounds amazing! I definitely have to try it, it sounds really good for dry skin. Fab review as always x

    http://new-lune.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 19, 2019 / 12:15 am

      It’s so nice right now with how dry the air is! I wish they sold it in a smaller travel sized sampler because it’s not the cheapest cleanser out there. For me the price is worth it though, I’ll definitely be repurchasing!

  7. Geraldine
    February 15, 2019 / 3:05 pm

    I have heard so much about Pixi and I am honestly so curious to try it!! My skin is always very dry and crackly esp during the winter … and then sometimes it’s incredibly dry and yet still oily! It’s good to know it’s a cream cleanser, I heard it doesn’t make your skin firm up and feel tight which is also nice. Thanks for reviewing it Cleia!

    Geraldine | https://geraldinetalks.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 19, 2019 / 12:12 am

      Dry skin always gets worse in the winter ๐Ÿ™ I’m really loving their ceramide cream as a moisturizer right now, it’s helped a lot!
      I’m still so used to lathering cleansers that it’s weird to me when I use something that doesn’t lather. Especially shampoo! But this cream cleanser has been really gentle on my skin so far. Thanks for reading!

  8. February 15, 2019 / 9:28 am

    I’m still hoping I might get a PR packaging from Pixi. I wrote to them, filled out the form they sent so here is hoping!! โ™ฅ And always love reading your blog posts!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 18, 2019 / 5:48 pm

      I hope they accept you! It took a few months after signing up to receive my first package so it might take a little while. Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ’•

      • February 18, 2019 / 5:56 pm

        Yeah a friend of mine on IG she was the one that told me what to do and told me it took a few months before she even received a package and she forgot she even wrote to them.

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          February 19, 2019 / 12:21 am

          the weird thing is that you don’t even get an email or anything when a package is coming. It just shows up on your doorstep, no note or anything and no shipping info. :S

          • February 19, 2019 / 4:17 am

            Yeah Iโ€™ve read when people get the package they seem so surprised, which is kinda cool.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: