Sydney Grace Cosmetics Eyeshadow Singles Review + 3 Looks

I’ve been dying to try the Sydney Grace Cosmetics eyeshadow singles ever since I started following Alexa from Gandalf Sandwich on instagram. If you love makeup and you’re a bit of a gamer/fantasy lover I HIGHLY recommend her account. She creates eyeshadow looks based on places in books and video games and I’m obsessed with her makeup style. She also features tons of smaller, unique makeup brands and that’s how I discovered Sydney Grace Cosmetics. The power of influencers!

Sydney Grace Cosmetics is run by a lovely lady named Heather. The brand is cruelty free, paraben free and made in the USA.

Sydney Grace Cosmetics Single Shadow Review

Sydney Grace Cosmetics Review

There is so much choice available on Sydney Grace Cosmetics’s website! I spent literally 2 hours trying to decide what shadows to order. I really wanted to pick up the Danny’s Dream bundle which features all green shades but since I recently picked up the Just My Luck Palette from ColourPop I decided I should go with shades that are more unique to my collection. Now I wish I had picked up the green shadow bundle, it’s everything I wanted the Just My Luck palette to be.

Sydney Grace Cosmetics Swatches

Top to bottom: Admiral, Sea Foam, Lemon Cream, Toffee, Major, Recruit

I settled on six eyeshadow singles:

  • Admiral: dark chocolate brown matte
  • Sea Foam: pale green matte
  • Lemon Cream: light yellow matte
  • Toffee: warm caramel matte
  • Major: true gold metallic
  • Recruit: silver-green metallic

Sydney Grace Co also makes pressed blushes, bronzers & highlighters but I decided to stick to single shadows for a first order.

Sydney Grace Cosmetics Review

Pricing & Shipping:

The cost of my eyeshadows weren’t too bad. The matte single shadows retail for $5 and contain 1.8g of product ($2.77/g). This is quite comparable to ColourPop single shadows at $4.5 for 1.5g ($3/g). Sydney Grace’s shimmer and pressed pigment shadows retail for $6 for 1.8g of product ($3.33/g). I guess the main difference is that ColourPop has a TON of sales which reduce the price of their eyeshadows where Sydney Grace shadows are more of a fixed price.

Shipping was unfortunately a little expensive. To ship internationally from the USA to Canada the cost was $10USD, which is crazy to me. Shipping costs are calculated by weight so if you ordered a lot if would probably be more expensive. I was able to find a promo code for 15% off which saved me just under $5, so it did offset the shipping cost slightly. If there was a threshold to reach free shipping I would have placed an order much sooner!

Toffee & Lemon Cream Single Shadows

Mate shades:

Lemon Cream

Lemon Cream is such a beautiful shade. I noticed that this eyeshadow in particular would skip on my eyes if I was trying to apply it over a primer that had been set with powder. I had no issues applying it over a tacky base so it was easy to get over it. Once Lemon Cream is built up on the eyes it didn’t budge. No creasing, no fading, nothing. I’m obsessed with Lemon Cream all over my eyes with a tiny bit of Toffee in the crease! Yellow is having a moment on my eyes these days.

Toffee

Toffee is soo beautiful! The name is perfect, toffee is a warm, caramel brown. It pairs well with Lemon Cream and I’ve been wearing them together quite a bit. I didn’t have any issues applying this shade like I did with Lemon Cream. It’s easy to blend over a primer that’s set or one that’s still tacky. I’m happy I picked this shade!

Sea Foam & Admiral Single Shadows

Sea Foam

Sea Foam is such a unique colour! It’s between a mint and a blue, and it’s very pigmented. This shadow is a bit powdery so I’ve been tapping out my brush when I use it. I find that Sea Foam applies better with a scratchier/denser brush. Some of my softer brushes don’t grip to the formula quite well enough which is odd, but it’s what I’ve noticed. I love this shade for Summer!

Unfortunately I did notice a bit of fading with Sea Foam. It didn’t crease but some of the shadow disappeared around the 3 hour mark. It was definitely still visible on my eyes and most people wouldn’t notice, but up close I could tell because I knew where I had placed the shadow!

Admiral

Admiral is a deep cool toned brown. It goes really well with all the Army themed shades Syndey Grace Cosmetics released a few months ago, and it’s been working well to add depth to the singles I chose. This shade was really long lasting in particular, when I swatched it with the other singles it was the only shade left at the end of the day.

Admiral is super pigmented to it’s best to work slowly with this shade.

Major & Recruit Single Shadows

Pressed Pigment Shades

Major

Major is a gorgeous yellow shimmer shade. It comes across as more shimmery than metallic on the eyes which is what I was hoping for. This is a great shade to wear all over the lid or with Lemon Cream. I’ve also been wearing it as a fun pop of colour in the inner corners of my eyes! I didn’t notice any fading with this shade, it was still visible on my eyes 8 hours later.

Recruit

Depending on the lighting Recruit looks silver or green. It’s not a duo-chrome though, I never really notice both hues at the same time. Both shimmers I ordered feel extra soft & smooth to the touch. I didn’t need setting spray to make it pop nor did I need to apply it over concealer to get more out of it. I experienced a bit of fallout with Recruit and it’s the only shade out of the 6 where fallout occurred. That’s pretty good if you ask me!

Sydney Grace Cosmetics Eyeshadow Singles Review

Makeup Looks

I wanted to create three looks with these shades so you guys could see them in action. I know that this is not an eyeshadow “palette” but the shades do go together pretty well (with the exception of maybe the Lemon Cream & Sea Foam). Let me know which look is your favourite!

Icy Platinum Blonde - Sydney Grace Co Lemon Cream ShadowSydney Grace Co Lemon Cream - Platinum Blonde

Look 1: Lemon Meringue

I needed to do something with the yellow shade! Have you guys seen the Trendy yellow looks that everyone is doing on YouTube this spring? I’m obsessed! I wanted to do something similar so I did a look using the shades Lemon Cream & Toffee. Such a delicious combination! This look reminds me of the lemon tarts from Duchess Bake Shop in Edmonton. If you’re ever visiting my home town you MUST go to duchess.

You can now watch how I got this look on my YouTube Channel!

Look #2:

This look uses the shades Sea Foam, Admiral and Toffee. I don’t know what’s up with me but I am obsessed with a pastel matte shade all over my eyelids these days. Sea Foam is all over my eyelids here and I have a touch of Admiral in the outer corners. Two shadows only, but beautiful.

Silver Green Halo Eye Always Cleia

Silver Green Halo Eye Sydney GraceCo

Look #3:

My last look uses the shimmer shades! I decided to do a fun halo eye here with Toffee in the crease, Admiral in the inner & outer corners and Recruit in the centre of my eyelids. I also used the shade Henna from my ColourPop Brown sugar palette in crease. To add some more color to the look I used a little bit of Major in the inner corners!

Icy Platinum Blonde - Sydney Grace Co Lemon Cream Shadow

Overall Thoughts

Truth time… Is purchasing from Sydney Grace Cosmetics worth it? Even with the shipping cost my answer is yes. The mattes have virtually no fallout whatsoever and aside from Sea Foam I experienced no fading or creasing.

I’ve enjoyed the shimmer shadows as well, they pop even when applied dry. No fix + or concealer needed.

The shade selection is incredible. SGC has so many different colours and finishes to choose from! You’re bound to find something that you don’t already have in your collection. I’ll definitely be ordering more once I purchase a new empty palette to fill up!

Have you tried Sydney Grace Cosmetics?

Thanks for reading lovely! I hope you enjoyed my Sydney Grace Single Shadows review. Please let me know if you’d like to see more of them on my blog. Talk soon! x

Follow:
Share:

39 Comments

  1. June 23, 2019 / 5:47 pm

    I’ve never heard of this brand! The power of influencers is real! I love all the shades you chose and the Lemon Meringue look is gorgeous, I am obsessed, too now!! ๐Ÿ˜

    • June 26, 2019 / 2:13 pm

      It really is! I never would have heard of them before if it wasn’t for instagram influencers.
      Thank you! Lemon Cream is my favourite ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. June 7, 2019 / 5:02 pm

    These look so pretty! Love the looks you created!
    โ™ฅ Mae

    • June 11, 2019 / 8:46 pm

      Thank you! They’re great shadows ๐Ÿ’›

  3. June 6, 2019 / 9:28 pm

    Lemon Cream and Sea Foam are soooo pretty. Both would look horrible on me, but they are pretty to look at, haha. They look beautiful on you! You chose some great shades. Do you have a custom palette to store these in?

    I’m dreading ordering from them because I know I’m going to waste a whole weekend browsing the website!

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:42 pm

      They’re such unique shades! Too bad they wouldn’t work for you ๐Ÿ™ But on the bright side they probably have hundreds of shades that will!
      I have one of the large empty ColourPop palettes. It’s completely full now so I need to order another one the next time they have them on sale.

      Oh I know, I spend hours choosing my shades haha. But it’s fun seeing everything she has available. Thanks for reading! x

      • June 7, 2019 / 3:09 pm

        They have those on sale all the time so you shouldn’t be waiting long, haha!

        Choosing single shadows is a PROCESS lol. Not only do you scroll through the website, but then you (or maybe it’s just me?) Google swatches to get comparisons from other brands to see if you already own a similar shade…long story short, it just takes forever to choose shades haha!

        • June 11, 2019 / 8:43 pm

          Yes that’s true! I have one in my cart just waiting.

          I didn’t think to do google comparisons, I guess it’s quicker without doing that! But I already knew that I didn’t have a yellow or that green because they’re so different. I’m sure I could dupe the dark brown ๐Ÿค”

          • June 12, 2019 / 11:59 am

            Definitely, the yellow and green are very unique! It takes foreverrrr to Google swatch comparisons lol, I’ve stopped myself from buying singles so often because I lose my patience doing it.

          • June 17, 2019 / 8:42 pm

            Hey that’s good then! It saves you money!

  4. June 6, 2019 / 8:52 pm

    These are such great shades…perfect for day and night. Love that gorgeous chocolatey shade!

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:40 pm

      I’m happy they all worked together so well! It’s hard to pick a favourite ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading! x

  5. Geraldine
    June 6, 2019 / 6:54 pm

    I never heard of this brand before.all of these shades look SOOO good! Too bad the sea foam started fading out but I think it looks so lovely! I never thought yellow could look appealing on the eyes but this shade is just perfect! It looks so great on you girl ๐Ÿ˜

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:38 pm

      Sea foam still lasts most of the day, it just fades around the crease area! It’s such a unique color!
      Thank you so much! This is the perfect yellow xx

  6. cindybryan3469
    June 6, 2019 / 6:39 pm

    I learned of Sydney Grace while in a Facebook group back in January and I have been an avid fan ever since. I have about 100 eyeshadows, 3 blushes and 2 highlighters but not a yellow can be found in my collection. That will have to change when I make an order during their Christmas in July event ๐Ÿ’› they have great prices already but you can usually find a 15% discount code floating around YouTube.

    I enjoyed your article, Iโ€™m looking forward to reading future posts.

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:37 pm

      This is a great brand for rounding out your collections with shades that you don’t already have! I’ve been searching for the perfect yellow shade forever but I didn’t want to pay a ton of money for one shadow. I’m so happy I found them!

      I didn’t know there would be a Christmas in July event so thank you for sharing that with me! I hope you love your order if you do end up placing one.

      Thank you so much for reading! xx

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:34 pm

      They have such an incredible selection on their website!
      And thank you! I’m glad that these worked out because this is my first time selecting individual shades to work together.
      Thank you for letting me know, I will check out your post! xx

  7. June 6, 2019 / 9:11 am

    I’m from the USA and I’ve never heard of this brand lol. It must be an indie brand who knows but I love that it was introduced to you by another influencer. That’s always the best ways to find new products or brands.

    I really like how well these shades performed based on your reviews, they seem to go for the same price as CP and even MUG (do people even buy those anymore?) I would totally be willing to try them at some point so I’ll keep this brand in mind for the future!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Also, I love the first look, I’ve been really digging the yellow looks people have been coming up with I’m dying to recreate one ๐Ÿ˜Š

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:32 pm

      I think they are, they only have about 30k followers on instagram right now so I’m not surprised not a lot of people have heard of them! I love Alexa’s (Gandalf Sandwich) instagram, she works with so many cool smaller brands.

      I NEVER heard anyone talk about makeup geek anymore! I have no idea why, everyone used to rave about them!

      The formula is a little different from ColourPop but it’s still pretty darn good, especially for the price you pay per shadow. I’d love to see you create a yellow look if you posted one!

      • June 10, 2019 / 1:34 am

        I’ll be sure to look her up ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for the suggestion!
        I think ever since she did that video about influencers asking for like $60k for a mention or a dedicated video, she kind of disappeared. And before I bought CP shadows, (way before her video) I went to the MUG site to browse the shades but I wasn’t feeling very many, and was more drawn to the navigation of CP and the fact that their shade range/selection was bigger.

        • June 11, 2019 / 9:00 pm

          I never even heard about that video! That’s so strange. CP is also so much cheaper! I’ve browsed MUG but the price always scares me away.

          • June 13, 2019 / 1:07 pm

            It died down a bit quick lol. It was very brief.
            But yes, CP is much cheaper!

  8. June 6, 2019 / 4:02 am

    The shades you picked up are beautiful and the formula sounds really nice! Haven’t heard of this brand before x

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:28 pm

      They’re a smaller brand, but the quality and customer service is amazing!

      • June 7, 2019 / 4:05 pm

        Thatโ€™s good to hear, often the way with smaller brands as they appreciate each customer ๐Ÿ™‚

        • June 11, 2019 / 8:46 pm

          Yes! And then they grow too large and customer service suffers. Like with ColourPop who now gives out coupons instead of replacing broken products ๐Ÿ™„

          • June 11, 2019 / 11:03 pm

            Oh wow, what sort of coupons does Colourpop give out?

          • June 12, 2019 / 1:40 am

            They’ll give you a discount for the cost of the item for your next purchase. Theoretically you could order it again but most of us internationally would have to pay shipping twice then.

          • June 12, 2019 / 2:03 am

            What if itโ€™s international free shipping? ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • June 17, 2019 / 8:41 pm

            Ahh but they only do that when you spend over $50 so I would have to spend that much extra to use the coupon. And when they have their rare international free shipping weekends they disable all other promo codes ๐Ÿ™

          • June 17, 2019 / 11:06 pm

            Sly haha ๐Ÿ˜‚

  9. June 5, 2019 / 7:29 pm

    I have to say again…I love your new hair! That slight lavender tint is everything! Anyways, talking about shadows…Iโ€™ve heard great things about Sydney Grace products but havenโ€™t experienced them yet. Iโ€™m really loving single shadows at the moment too!

    All the colors you chose look beautiful! Iโ€™m especially intrigued by that Sea Foam color; Iโ€™m feeling the pastels too but I think itโ€™s all about getting the right texture since Iโ€™ve heard they can be hard to work with overall. I especially like the last look you did!

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:23 pm

      Thanks Erica! I still love it a week later ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m happy that I placed an order with them and I’m already considering purchasing more. Not immediately, but maybe in a few months! They have really nice customer service too, they read my review and DM’d me that they’re looking into the quality of Lemon Cream because I had some issues applying it over a set base, which is really incredible of them to read that and immediately want to change it!

      Sea Foam is so interesting! I have absolutely nothing like it. Pastels are so great for summer!

      And thank you! The silver-green in the last look is so interesting x

      • June 8, 2019 / 3:13 pm

        Wow, thatโ€™s great that they take customer feedback so seriously. I just love green shadows so much, and theyโ€™re having a serious moment right now too!

        • June 8, 2019 / 9:08 pm

          Yeah it’s awesome! And I agree, greens are so fun to wear ๐Ÿ˜Š

  10. June 5, 2019 / 2:31 pm

    You know, Iโ€™ve always dismissed yellow as an eyeshadow thinking there is no way it could look good… and then i see your lemon meringue look and now all I want is yellow eyeshadow!

    • June 7, 2019 / 2:17 pm

      This is the perfect yellow! It’s not so neon that it’s unwearable, it reminds me of lemon meringue pie which I love ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: