Tarte Aquacealer Concealer Review

Hey lovelies, welcome back to my blog! Today’s post is a review of Tarte Aquacealer. Hopefully you guys aren’t sick of reviews, but if you are let me know if you’d like to see some lifestyle and beauty posts that aren’t review based. This one is going to be short and (hopefully) sweet!

I was shopping for concealers in November when I saw that Sephora had a sale on Tarte Aquacealer Concealer. It regularly retails for $31CAD and was discounted to $15 so I couldn’t say no! I added it to my cart as well as a few Christmas gifts and I also qualified for a free deluxe sample bag with my Cyber Monday Order. Yay!

Tarte Aquacealer Concealer Review

Tarte Aquacealer At A Glance

A lightweight, 12-hour concealing serum offering buildable, medium coverage with skin-soothing benefits.

Tarte Aquacealer Concealer is part of Tarte’s Rainforest Of The Sea Collection and retails for $31CAD ($26USD) at Tarte & Sephora. Aquacealer Concealer comes in 12 different shades and contains “concentrated levels of pigments suspended in deep conditioning serum made up of 20 percent water” to hydrate the skin.

Tarte Aquacealer Concealer Review - Applicator

Pros

  • Pretty Packaging – The bottle is frosted glass with gold lettering and a gold/purple lid
  • Doe foot applicator
  • Blends easily
  • Doesn’t Oxidize
  • Hydrating finish (not matte, but not “dewy” either)
  • Doesn’t Crease
  • Wears at least 8 hours on me

Cons

  • Applicator wand is stiff – It’s not gentle applying the giant doe foot to my under eye area, I would have preferred a more flexible wand. I find it easiest to roll the wand along my under eye area instead of dragging the wand.
  • The applicator wand is a doe foot, but it’s also giant which makes it hard to conceal precisely without using a concealer brush.
  • I got the wrong shade! This could be just me, but I find it hard to colour match online and got a shade a little bit too pink.
  • Coverage can be built to medium under my eyes, but it’s on the lighter side when i try to conceal blemishes. I feel like I get the best results using this concealer solely for my under eye circles as opposed to covering acne spots.

Tarte Aquacealer Concealer Review

Final Thoughts

I was over the moon that I was able to pick up this concealer for 50% off. I’m happy with my purchase, but I know that if I had spend full price at $31CAD I would have been disappointed. I expected to get fuller coverage on blemishes than I do with this concealer, and though it blends out nicely to cover my under eye circles I find the wand awkward to use. I like that this concealer doesn’t feel drying on my skin, but right now I prefer ColourPop’s No Filter Concealer even though it’s a matte formula (reviewed HERE!) And the CP concealer is $6USD so it’s a no-brainer. This won’t be a repurchase but I don’t hate it and will be finishing the bottle.

Have you tried Tarte Aquacealer Concealer?

As always, thanks for reading! Let me know what beauty products you’d like to see reviewed next. Remember to like & subscribe!

Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Pinterest ~ Bloglovin

Screen Shot 2017-08-27 at 3.37.31 PM

Follow:
Share:

29 Comments

  1. February 8, 2018 / 4:25 pm

    Really awesome post! ❀ It’s so hard finding a good concealer, honestly. After your review, I’m interested in trying the ColourPop’s Concealer. The fact that it’s only $6 is also pretty great hehe πŸ™‚

    P.S. your blog is super pretty & engaging ❀

    • February 9, 2018 / 1:45 am

      Oh I know, it’s soo hard! I can’t even count all the concealers I’ve tried anymore that haven’t worked out for me. I really do recommend the ColourPop concealer! $6 is a steal!

      Thanks for reading!! That’s very kind of you, I’m glad you enjoy reading my content! xx

  2. February 8, 2018 / 4:25 pm

    This is usually my go to concealer, but I only use it on the under eyes. I basically never spot conceal so that isn’t a concern of mine (not that I don’t get plenty of blemishes, but my foundation does the trick). Glad to hear that you liked it for the most part! I was super pissed actually, because I repurchased this like a week before it went on sale lol. UHG

    • February 9, 2018 / 1:43 am

      Oh no that would be the worst!!! Too bad you couldn’t get a price adjustment or something I would be so frustrated.

      Thank you so much for reading, your comments always brighten my day πŸ™‚

      • February 9, 2018 / 1:57 am

        Yeah I probably could have gotten them to give me the sale price after the fact, but I didn’t get around to it. It’s my own fault!

  3. February 8, 2018 / 1:36 pm

    This is a great review and I love that you include and pros and cons list. Some application wands are so irritating that they just ruin the whole thing of the product. I usually end up using my fingers. xx

    • February 9, 2018 / 1:29 am

      I’m glad you liked it! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚
      You know, I might just start doing that. The wand is waaay too big haha

  4. February 7, 2018 / 5:32 pm

    I totally recommend you try out the Tape Shape if you haven’t already. The doe foot is the same, but the covereage is wayy better! I love reading your reviews, but I wouldn’t mind if you wanted to write about other things. Explore whatever other topics you would like to write about, I’m sure it would come out amazing xxx

    Melina | http://www.ivefoundwaldo.com

    • February 9, 2018 / 1:27 am

      I want to try shape tape sooo bad! I wish it sold at Sephora, I hate that I have to order it directly from Tarte. Thanks so much Melina! πŸ™‚

        • February 9, 2018 / 10:52 pm

          We don’t πŸ™ The next time I go to the states I’m going to Ulta immediately! πŸ˜‚

          • February 10, 2018 / 12:45 pm

            Yes unfortunately, I think I need to spend $50 for free shipping so just for shape tape I would need to add more to my cart

  5. February 7, 2018 / 4:53 pm

    Great post! I love reading your reviews and somehow they always match up with something I’m currently thinking about buying or something I need πŸ™‚

    • February 9, 2018 / 1:25 am

      haha I guess we’re in sync! I hope my reviews are helpful to you πŸ™‚

  6. February 7, 2018 / 3:36 pm

    I had heard that this whole line was more sheer than intended. If that die foot is anything like shape tape it’s an applicator for a giant! Lol thanks for sharing

    • February 7, 2018 / 3:58 pm

      I was expecting a little bit more coverage from aquacealer πŸ˜“ seriously what is up with the giant applicators! Thanks for reading!

    • February 7, 2018 / 2:19 pm

      Aww, that’s the worst when it’s hard to find something where you live. There are quite a few brands I wish we’re sold here too 😩

  7. February 7, 2018 / 10:46 am

    What a steal getting this concealer for $15! I’ve always wanted to try this concealer, but if it’s only medium coverage for concealing blemishes, then no.

    • February 7, 2018 / 2:15 pm

      I love when Sephora has sales 😁
      I was disappointed with the coverage for blemishes, it helped even out my skin tone but you could still see them πŸ™

  8. beautybyraji
    February 7, 2018 / 8:02 am

    i find a lot of the tart products have these massive applicators! have you tried the new tart shape tape foundation?

    • February 7, 2018 / 3:56 pm

      I haven’t tried it yet! I still need to try the shape tape concealer πŸ˜„

      • beautybyraji
        February 7, 2018 / 4:15 pm

        its seriously amazing!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: