Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Retractable Pencil Review

Hey Beauties! Welcome back to my blog. Today I’m talking about a product that has replaced the ColourPop Brow Boss as my favourite drugstore brow pencil. The Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Retractable Pencil is my most reached for eyebrow product right now and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. Let me know in the comments below what your favourite drugstore brow pencil is!

Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Retractable Pencil Review

Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Retractable Pencil Review

Insta-worthy! Fill in and define your brows with our unique triangular pencil tip. It creates strokes small enough to look like your finest hairs and sharpens the edges of those brows with rub-resistant pigments.  — Wet N Wild

The Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Retractable Pencil retails for $3.99USD (crazy right!?) and comes in three shades: Taupe, Ash Brown & Medium Brown. I hope WNW expands their shade range as three shades don’t fit all complexions and hair colours! It has a thin & slanted pencil tip that makes filling in my eyebrows quick & easy. The pencil is also retractable.

Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow

Packaging

I know that Wet N Wild describes the pencil tip as triangular but that’s not the word I would use. It’s thin and angular but not a triangle shape. Because the pencil tip isn’t very much like a traditional pencil you can use this pencil in two ways: One, you can use it to create brush stroke like hairs. Two, you can use it to create a thicker line of pigment that gives the effect of using a brow powder.

The Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Retractable Pencil has a spoolie on one end and is also retractable. I LOVE that this pencil is retractable. When I was using the ColourPop Precision Brow Pencil it was so frustrating not being able to retract any of the pigment. My one complaint with the packaging is that the caps are two different sizes. I’m often half distracted and don’t pay enough attention to what I’m doing which often results in me crushing the tip of the pencil with the small spoolie cap. Of course this could be avoided if I just retracted the brow pencil properly before putting the cap on… but I don’t always do things properly!

Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Pencil Swatch

Formula & Performance

The Ultimate Brow pencil tip is soft but not ultra creamy. When I use the pencil to make hair strokes they look very natural, unlike a more dramatic brow with a creamier pencil like the ColourPop Precision Brow Pencil. I don’t find myself “carving” out eyebrows with this pencil because the tip isn’t as thin as other brow pencils. You can get a more dramatic look with a bit of patience but I currently use the Benefit Precisely My Brow Pencil when I want a sharper looking brow

I mostly use the Wet N Wild Ultimate Brow Retractable Pencil for natural makeup days or when I’m in a rush because it’s so quick & easy to fill in my eyebrows with this pencil. The spoolie is soft and does a great job of blending brush strokes together and softening any harsh lines I might have made.

My brows last most of the day with Ultimate Brow. I notice fading at the end of the day near the tails of my eyebrows (I tend to smudge them, I need to stop), but not enough to be a deal breaker. The Benefit Precisely My Brow pencil does last longer in my opinion but I’m not willing to pay an extra $25 for that longevity.

Have you tried Wet N Wild’s brow pencil?

Overall I really like this pencil. It’s worth every cent I paid for it, which wasn’t very many to begin with. I have a few other brow pencils in my rotation right now, so I’ll be using my ColourPop Brow Boss next. I’ll absolutely keep the Ultimate Brow Retractable pencil in mind for my next drugstore brow purchase.

Thanks for reading everyone, Talk soon! x

Follow:
Share:

21 Comments

  1. February 14, 2019 / 9:09 am

    I had forgotten that WnW had a brow pencil too! Omg I’ll have to buy this one first before I pay a bit more for the nyx one, though because of their shade range I’m not too keen because then I need extra products to cancel out tones that stand out too much. I’ll definitely keep this one in mind when I run out of my benefit one.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 18, 2019 / 5:42 pm

      The shade range is seriously awful but if there’s a shade that is a close match it’s a great pencil. I definitely need to repurchase!

  2. February 13, 2019 / 11:00 am

    Oh my goodness, the price of this brow pencil is amazing!! I’m going to have to look for this for sure. I was thinking of getting Nyx, but this is so much cheaper. What shade are you using? I never really know what shade to get for my brows, lol.

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 18, 2019 / 5:23 pm

      Right!? I’m using the shade Medium Brown. I wish they had a better shade range because this is my favorite drugstore pencil. I started using my brow boss again a few days ago and I really miss the Wet N Wild pencil.

  3. February 12, 2019 / 4:27 pm

    I am loving Wet n Wild so much lately! I recently bought ColourPop Brow Boss for my light makeup days (otherwise I use ABH DipBrow) and I like it, but I will never turn my nose up at a good product that saves me some money haha I hope they come out with more shades as I use black!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 18, 2019 / 5:21 pm

      They’re so good, especially for the price you pay! I definitely want to try more from them.
      I just started using my ColourPop brow boss again, now that I’ve tried the Wet N Wild I think I actually like it better! But the brow boss is good too 🙂
      The shade range is really unfortunate though 🙁

  4. February 12, 2019 / 2:46 pm

    Oo I will have to try this next time I’m going for in for a brow pencil. I’ve been obsessed with NYX eyebrow pencil (it is retractable) and has a spooly on the end, but it’s $10. I kept going through them so quickly I found ELF has a retractable pencil with a spooly for $2. I use the ELF one for day to day (before the gym, running a quick errand) and save the NYX for “special” occasions. The ELF one is more creamy so a light touch is helpful, but I’ve been enjoying it!
    Thank you for talking about the Wet N Wild one. Sometimes going to the drugstore and seeing all the products can be a bit overwhelming so it’s nice to have a good review. Do you have any brow gels you recommend?

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 18, 2019 / 5:19 pm

      I remember really liking the Nyx one! That’s good to know about the elf one, I want to try it now! $2 is a fantastic price.
      There’s so much selection at the drugstore! I hardly ever know what to get 😄
      I like the essence brow gel and I recently tried one from Beautaniq that I really liked! Unfortunately that one isn’t sold at the drugstore though so it’s a bit more expensive. Thanks for reading! 💕

  5. February 12, 2019 / 1:18 pm

    I can’t get over this price! I might have to try it out. i don’t know if I’ll love it, because I like to create thing hairs at the front of my brows so they look more like sister than cousins, but since you said it’s not as thin as other products, I’m not sure if it’ll work for what i use it for. Great post and review though! xxx

    Melina | http://www.melinaelisa.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 15, 2019 / 12:28 am

      Isn’t that price incredible!? Wet N Wild has released so many products that I want to try lately. That’s a good point though, it might be harder to draw those precise hairs. Hmm…

  6. February 12, 2019 / 5:35 am

    This brow pencil sounds amazing and for the price, it looks really good! I don’t know if they sell it in the UK but if they do, I’m definitely going to pick it up! x

    http://new-lune.com

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 15, 2019 / 12:23 am

      It’s really great! I will be repurchasing soon, I use brow pencils super fast for some reason haha
      I hope you’re able to find it in the UK!

  7. February 11, 2019 / 9:43 pm

    I love Wet n’ Wild so much. Haven’t used any of their brow products before, but I’m sure this is amazing! Loved the before & after shots at the end. Can really see the difference!

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 15, 2019 / 12:18 am

      It’s a great pencil for such a low price! I like it better than the NYX one that everyone seems to love. Thanks!! Yes filled in eyebrows make such a difference, I don’t think I can ever go back to not doing them lol
      Thanks for reading!

      • February 15, 2019 / 12:33 pm

        Full disclosure: I never touched my brows until just a few years ago! I never saw the point in filling in or plumping up my brows before (mine are moderately thick, but very long naturally). Once I started using pencils, powders & gels, now I can’t imagine not doing my brows! Funny how that happens!

        • AlwaysCleia
          Author
          February 18, 2019 / 5:50 pm

          I’m the same way! I have thicker brows but now that I fill them in regularly I notice all the sparse areas when I don’t 😄

          • February 18, 2019 / 7:49 pm

            You can’t go back now! We become slaves to these things.

  8. February 11, 2019 / 2:37 pm

    You’re making me want to try it! It’s next on my wishlist as soon as I need a replacement 😊

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 11, 2019 / 7:30 pm

      It’s really good for the price! I finished mine today so now I’ll need to repurchase

  9. February 11, 2019 / 1:37 pm

    I’ve just started using this and I like it too. The shade is good for me and the shape is easy to use x

    • AlwaysCleia
      Author
      February 11, 2019 / 7:29 pm

      I’m glad you like this too! I actually finished mine today so now I’m sad lol

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: